Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
If i was to ram lets just say a squad of sentanals would i roll a d6 for each one or a d6 for the hole squad cause they are indavidule vehicals but they are a unit.
hear is the senario i am thinking of
BW------->S S S
would i roll the hits for the 1st one and if it blows up move on to the next one or not
If I recall correctly (I don't have the book with me here) the vehicle squadron would have to evenly distribute the hits. So if you rolled 3 hits each would have one, 4 would be 1 on each and 1 of them would take the second hit.
This would apply to any squadron, be it sentinals, killa kans, pirahnas, or leman russes. :-)
That's an interesting question. I think the Squadron gets benifits from shooting, not exactly from ramming. I would think the benefit would be to apply all the attacks to the one rammed Vehicle, which happens to be a Walker. This I'll have to reference later as I too do not have a book by my side.
I guess I see a Ram as being a Close Combat attack against another vehicle.
Last edited by p13th0r4; March 2nd, 2010 at 21:44.
Ok, not really. Let's not jump to conclusions. Last time that happened Orks couldn't Ram with a Reinforced Ram and couldn't use a Deffrolla against vehicles even when the rules say otherwise. I'll go with the Squadron being able to divide the hits from non-vehicle CC attacks because it's in the RB. But you can't just throw out there that they get to divide the hits withoout mentioning what happens to each type of squadron. My understanding is that there are goodies and badies to being part of a squadron. The baddies being that applying damage can be worse if immobilized. The goodies being that they can transfer the damage. Giving that mentality I'll go with the dispersion of hits but each type still needs to be discussed. (Not that any of us are final say-sos on the matter anyway)
But the intent for the Tank Shock is to attempt to move through a non-vehicle unit. The Deffrolla simply gives it an automatic D6 hits against the unit. If the unit passes the morale test then it can simply step aside. I'm not sure the Vehicle Squads are intended to do this.
The intent of the Ram is to not move pass the Vehicle but to use its mass to cause damage to another Vehicle unit. With Ramming, since the ramming Vehicle is required to make its maximum movement, it is likely that the ramming Vehicle will come into contact with another member of the Squad. Obviously if the Ramming Vehicle is stopped there is no other concern, but if the ramming Vehicle is destoys one of the members of the squad, and then completes its maximum movement into another member of the same Squad, does it Ram the Squad again?
Walkers get to decide to be treated as a vehicle or to make a DoG attack, granted the model rammed is not rammed from the rear arc; otherwise it is treated as a Ram against the rear armour (I might be stating this wrong). So how would the squadron mentality work on this? I would assume that the Squad of Walkers would always be able to make a DoG attack since the other Walkers would warn the Rammed Walker of the impending doom. Then the glancing and/or penetrating hits would be divided among the walkers. Also, in the event that the Walker does decide to make a DoG attack the Squad would suffer another D6 attacks. Which Walker (granted most are the same in a squad) gets to make the DoG. Keeping to the DoG it would be the Rammed players choice. If the DoG fails does the Squad spread the damage across the rear armour of each?
Skimmers get to make a dodge on a 3+ (I think). How would this play out? Do they each get to make a dodge?
Simply to say, I don't think the Squadron rules apply to the Vehicles in the Squad being Rammed, or at least there are no clearly defined rules. Otherwise you open a whole new bag of worms. I'd think they would get some sort of benifit but what? This might be answered by GW soon, since it's bound to come up again. (Sorry for the run-on sentences)
Last edited by p13th0r4; March 3rd, 2010 at 16:56. Reason: Correction. on next post.
The Walkers can be treated as Vehicle or Infantry DoG. It seems that if treated as a Vehicle then the other Walkers would potentialy be Rammed if the first one was destroyed, effectively ramming the others in te squad. This makes sense fluff wise, as all the Walkers are considered a Unit. If the Walker Squad decides DoG then they are treated as infantry and if the DoG Walker fails to stop the Tank it (suffers a rear armour facing attack, or is just removed?). The other Walkers suffer 2D6 hits and anyone left standing simply gets out of the way of the Ramming Vehicle.
If the Skimmer dodges the Ram does the Vehicle stop in it's tracks (same as non squadron)?
This gets more interesting every time I look at it.
Deffrollas inflict d6 S10 hits against the UNIT they come into contact with. Regardless of the fact that they only ram one of the vehicles, the unit as a whole divides the S10 hits, because that's what the deffrollas entry says. So I believe you'd resolve the ram against one vehicle, and then inflict the d6 S10 hits.
Interesting, I've always thought that the Deffrolla replaced the Ram hit and Just applied the D6 S10. Are you saying that for a Squad of Vehicles the Rammed Vehicle would get an additional Ram added attack while the whole squad, including the rammed would recieve the D6 hits?
In short: yup.
When you resolve the ram, you simultaneously inflict d6 S10 hits upon the enemy unit. Of course, it's not all wine and roses, as your opponent also inflicts a ram attack back upon you, and depending on the speed you were going, and the armor of the opposing vehicle, this might destroy your battlewagon.
True, I realized the ramming vehicle recieved a hit too but I assumed the D6 hits replaced the one.
what are your thoughts on skimmer squads and walker squads? I think they deserve a mention.