Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Do the leadership penalties from Devourers and Brainleach worms these stack?
For example, if I hit a unit of orks with 2 sets of devourer armed warriors, and a leadership check is required at the end of the phase, are they at a -2 leadership?
If they don't stack because they are the same weapon (I don't like it; but, I can understand the reasoning), can I attack that unit with a daakarant and a set of devourer armed warriors to make a -2 leadership penalty.
If the first case is true, we can really put a hurt on low leadership armies. We can also start to hurt some higher leadership armies as well. SMurfs dropping to Ld 7(or lower if the first case works) would make my day.
Also, does the leadership penalty remain throughout the game?
I don't think they stack as it's the same weapon regardless of who shoots it. I don't have the book in front of me so I can't see the exact wording right now.
The penalty is for that turn only. I believe it says "for the turn" or some such under the description. Again, don't have the book but I remember having the same thought.
Typical sloppy rules writing, but I doubt that the intention was for the LD penalties to stack.
ninjabackhand: point and click, again, really? even after i give you an military term "shock tactic" you still call it point and click.
RIP Warhammer 40,000: 21 Sep 1998 - 24 May 2014
That would be entirely to powerful... Especially with all the other leadership modifiers in our possesion
Actually, it seems pretty straight forward to me. The rule is based on the unit suffering the wounds, rather then on the aggressor inflicting the wounds so it makes no difference who or how many does the shooting.
"If an enemy unit suffers one or more casualties because of a devourer..."
1 casualty from a small squad of Termagaunts with Devourers and they need to take a Morale check?
10 Casualties from a squad of Termagaunts and Warriors with Devourers, plus an extra 5 casualties from a Tyrant with Brainleech worms, then they need to take a Morale check?
Still just -1 Leadership.
There is a difference between devourers and brainleech devourers.1 casualty from a small squad of Termagaunts with Devourers and they need to take a Morale check?
Keep in mind though, that the Brainleech Worms are just the ammunition. It's still the same gun. It's still a Devourer.
A comparison ruling (and I'm making this up) would be "If your army has a Tank in play Billy Bob Thorton gets a Mentos at the end of your turn"
One army has a Single Lemun Russ
One has a Single LandRaider
One has 3 Baneblades
Doesn't matter which army Billy Bob chooses, he still only gets the one Mentos...though the third army can loose up to two Tanks without adversely effecting Billy's Mentos consumption...
...anywho, makes sense?
Billy Bob only gets one mentos a turn!?!? NOoooooo!!!
Yeah, from the wording of the gun, it's a max of -1 leadership.
Sorry, was under the assumption that only the brainleech devourers had the LD munching abilities.