Welcome to Librarium Online!
So a painfull opponent chalanged whether Doom can use its special abilities (especially drain) while locked in assualt.
I reasoned ..yes..why not only shooting attacks are not allowed while locked in assualt according to BRB 5th ed
He reckond no as his eldar have special entries that say that this is specifically allowed during cc.
which i said is prob because they 4th ed...
any help on the reasoning here...is he correct?
life drain is no shooting attack, it just happens in the shooting phase. so there...
Because this guy isn't OP!.
I have to agree with CridiDeal. This special rule for the DoM doesn't specify if its a shooting attack or a psychic attack, It just happens. Its implied that it is an aura almost like having a 6" blast marker over top of him and anything that is under it gets hit, whether in CC or not.
His leech ability works in close combat during the shooting phase. Additionally he can also gain wounds for any wounds he inflicts even in close combat, and he's pretty good at close combat when up against normal infantry so charge him when you can!