Welcome to Librarium Online!
So after reading about the Ork Mob Rule I found a sort of weakness in its statement. I posted on the Eldar forum to get some feedback on what they think, and the results weren't flying in, but it seems people agree with my view on the rule.
Anyway, here is how I summed up my interpretation of the Mob Rule. You can find a lengthier explanation in the original thread.
The Mob Rule Works against Pinning, Morale Checks, Spirit Leech (Doom of Melan'tai) and other things that require the LD of the unit. The Mob Rule doesn't work against Mind War, Direswords, Boneswords (the instant death part) and other things that require the LD of the model.
I'd like to hear what the Ork community has to say about this interpretation. I usually tend to interpret rules to my own disadvantage in 40k, as I prefer to think of the intent rather than semantics, but this one is just to juicy to pass up. I really dislike Nobs with Powerclaws hiding in large groups of Boyz.
A couple of things of the top of my noggin'....
- A weirdboy uses 'mob rule' for psychic tests, with a maximum of LD10.
- I ain't ever going to some pointy-headed Panzy forum to read anything.
I'd suggest a single target in a large mob of Orks under 'mob rule' would use LD10 for the test.
Remember - the mental energy of the boyz goes up when they get together.....
As Cossack already mentioned, Mob rule allows an Ork to use the model count in their unit as if were their leadership value. It works for any type of leadership test unless the special ability causing the test specifically says to use the model's 'unmodified' leadership value.
So I don't see any reason why it wouldn't work against mind war.
"Any job worth doing, is worth doing with a powerklaw."
Heh, I almost expected this, 'tis why I posted here in addition to in the Eldar part of the forum. Below you can find the exact wording of how the Mob Rule affects Leadership.
Mob Rule(the interesting bit): "Because of this, Ork mobs may always choose to substitute the number of Orks in their mob for their normal Leadership value."
To me this means the mob may do it, but individual models in the mob may not, but as you say the FAQ states that the Weirdboy may use this to increase his chances to succeed with psychic powers, which is the opposite of what the mob rule states. Also, using Mind War to target Nobs with Powerclaws seems a fairly popular tactic with Wraithlord-lists. and it wouldn't be nearly feasible if the Nob has a LD value of 10. So, as stated above, the wording of the rule makes it sound like it shouldn't work on the Weirdboy, but apparently the FAQ allows specifically the Weirdboy to use it to his advantage.
Im not positive but i would have to say that sence they FAQ on a wiered boy i would have to say that it carrys over to all of the modleswitch would mean that the Nob would be LD 10 along with each boy n the unit witch yes would make mind war a bit more of a crap shoot.
And this is pulled from the INAT FAQ
ORK.31B.01 – Q: Does the Ld value of an Ork in a mob
benefit from the ‘Mob Rule’ when they are targeted
individually such as with Eldar Mind War?
A: Yes, individual Orks within a mob may always benefit from
the Mob Rule up to a maximum Ld value of 10 (no matter
how many Orks beyond ten the mob actually has)
Hot dang, forgot to check that FAQ, thank you for pointing that out tinytim84. My Wraithlords will now never see a battle, they will look good on my hobby-shelf though. Guess I have to break the bad news to the Eldar players on the flip-side. ;P
Hot damn! Did I get this right?
I'm like the Shokk Attakk Gunner of LO....sometimes I roll a 'HIT'....
Hehe, you should have seen the game i moderated this Monday. The Orks were hitting with their ranged weapons better than Space Marines on average.
OT: It does make sense though, and it is within the spirit of the rule to use it like in the INAT FAQ. It was mostly just wishful thinking on my part that it wasn't so, oh well, back to my crusade at convincing people that there is a typo in the Ork Codex and that Ork Boyz actually cost 16 points. Although, not many people seem to agree with me on that point, then again, there is no FAQ that disagrees with me either.. ;P Darned super-troops.
there is always a rule book that disagrees with yo espeacly when it wieghs 3 LBS and is flying at ur head JK i love rules lawyers