Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I've searched but the threads never came up with a consensus or good reasoning, so Im asking the question again.
Can a librarian nullify powers from a warlock? The adepticon INAT says No. Previous Chapter approved writings have said yes. Of course GW remains silent on the matter.
I've been leaning toward that they can not, reading from a raw standpoint I believe. Howeve I am new to Playing Eldar so please correct me if I am wrong.
A warlocks power is available permanently, so he does not have to take a Psy test to use it. pg28 eld codex
A librarians hood can be used after a model passes a psychic test, but before the powers used. pg 56 SM codex
a warlock never has to take the test therefore a librarian can never counter it.....
NECRON Army List Builder a Free excel capable list generator for 5th and 6th ed. 11/2011
Necrons - 6000 points, Tau - 6000, Daemons - 5250, Eldar - 4500, Blood Angels - 5000
Some pics form my hobby. http://s145.photobucket.com/albums/r...arodragon/40k/
It used to be explicitly allowed in one of the old FAQs (IIRC) but not anymore.
I think that at the end of the day if the hood can counter a power from Eldrad it can stop a Warlock from using Destructor. If you're at a tournament and use warlocks just bring the INAT ruling and they should go with that.
No you can't.
The hood activates after a succesfull test.
Warlocks don't test.
EDIT; it's like the mind war vs ork discussion. No matter what the fluff would suggest, or how we think things should work, the rules are what they are.
I've never seen any published material stating that hoods can nullify warlock powers. If CA did, I'd suggest that at this point they're so out of date as to be irrelevant at this point. But like you already pointed out, the psychic hood's effect is predicated on the power taking a psychic test, and since Warlock powers don't take a test they can't trigger the psychic hood.
I agree with your logic but it doesn't work like that ruleswise. I find it rather silly that a warlock will never fail to cast a power while farseers fail to cast every now and then, and things like how a witchblade can cut a rhino in half but bounces off of power armor.I think that at the end of the day if the hood can counter a power from Eldrad it can stop a Warlock from using Destructor.
Simply put it's game balance - a warlocks powers aren't typically as useful as a farseer's(doom/fortune are game winners), and 3 of the 4 are actually 'squad upgrades' more or less. Destructor is the one spell that does damage and it's basically just the eldar equivalent of a heavy flamer to be honest.
As i read it, the psychic hood can be used after a test suceeds. since there is no test for a warlocks power to be used, there is no chance for the psychic hood to be used
Chapter approved eldar FAQ v2 - psychic hoods work against warlock powers
Chapter approved space marine FAQ v3 - psychic hoods do not work against warlock powers