Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I just started painting a few ork boyz in hops of starting an ork army. Ive been reading tactics online but am confused with some of the rules pertaining to ork trukks. A few tqcticas have mentioned assaulting ork boyz on the first turn out of ork trukks. I am wondering how this is possible. i would estimate that if the orks have their first turn, they would need to move at least 24 inches.
From what I gather, the trucks are open topped and fast (stated on the GW site so i think I can say that).The rulebook mentions that you cant disembark from a fast vehicle moving moving flat out, so that would limit the ork trucks movement to 12 inches. if i were to assault from the trukk, the boyz would move their normal assault range combines with the 12 and that leaves me short. where the extra distance come from? I must be missing something.
Can anyone help me out here?
Trukks move 12", Orks disembark 2", Orks fleet 6", Orks assault 6". Granted, I'm not sure what (if any) Orks have fleet available on turn 1, as a WAAAGH can't be used then (But the Wierdboy Waaagh! power will work, if you are lucky enough to roll it). But at least that's how I imagine people think.
it seems like its mentioned enough that it has to be easier than the weirdboy waaagh. i was thinking the regualr waagh maybe. i thought it was leagal to do the first turn just not fluffy
You can't Waagh! until turn 2, so the Weirdboy is the only way to do it.
It is delightful.
i wasnt really considering the koptas as charging since i planned to use them to blast side and rear armor. i will reconsider that though though because it looks like they could be pretty usefull to tie up guncrews or heavy weapons squads
thanks for your help everyone
I think you are forgetting the more likely option....
The trukk gets blasted on Turn 1 and Kareens 3d6"...hopefully towards the enemy...and then on YOUR Turn 1 you can move and assault!
You can! The Wierdboy could pop a trukk as well as get a Waaagh! The trouble is, you wouldn't get your movement phase that way.