Welcome to Librarium Online!
Recently in a game my warboss was all by himself after his meganob friends all got power fisted. (Sidenote: If an IC is all thats left and he isn't in base contact or within 1 " of any enemies, is he still in melee? I assume so, but it came up and I thought it was interesting) He had lost the combat against a bunch of Black Templar, so he took his morale check and failed. I inflicted a wound that he saved and rolled again. He failed. I inflicted a wound that he Didn't save, and re-rolled. I did this about 9 times until his heavy armor failed him and he died. (After the 2nd time it was pretty much just for the lulz, although also because if he ran he would almost certainly hit a table edge) Me and my opponent were both pretty surprised that my Warboss just beat himself in the face until he died, and we started discussing weather that was a interesting rule use, or illegal.
2 questions I wasn't sure about came up:
1) Can an Independent character (Or a unit down to just a nob left) with a bosspole attack themselves to re-roll the failed test? (I think yes)
2) Can you keep re-rolling if you pay a wound each time, or does it follow the rule of 1 re-roll only. Before I thought I could keep going if I payed the price, since that seemed fairly balanced enough and I figured that was why everyone on the Ork Forum seems to LOOOOOOOOVE Bosspoles. I also have this question about Runt Herd's Squig hounds and them eating gretchen.
The Bosspole rule specifically states that you cannot inflict the wound on the model with the bosspole!
If he was a Madboy, I'd give an exception...but still...it's in the rule.
The leadership test is a REROLL...and you only ever get one reroll, so you cannot keep trying it.
Ah, thanks Cossack. I haven't looked at that in a long time, since I was just thinking I was remembering it all. Luckily it didn't change the outcome of that game, the Warboss was going to die/retreat anyway, and he didn't ever make a success when he shouldn't have.
I always forget about the 1 re-roll only rule until AFTER the game is over. I'm used to Table Top RPGS where they will usually say you can only do re-rolls and such once in the specific ability. Luckily I think now I've got it straightened out for all the units that I use that can Re-roll things (Bosspoles, Squig Hounds, and warpheads) so I shouldn't forget anymore.
I still like the idea of the warboss beating himself to death to save face. Kind of like how fearless units keep fighting a losing battle, I imagine him just flailing at the marines as they chain-sword him... lol
Cossack is correct on all counts.
Also, yes, the boss would still be in combat because he's still within consolidation range. The only time close combat ends is if you make a consolidation move after casualties are inflicted, and no models are in base contact. I've never seen this ever happen, but I assume it's theoretically possible.
"Any job worth doing, is worth doing with a powerklaw."