Welcome to Librarium Online!
was just curious. I've seen people talk about deepstriking, but wasn't sure if they were referring to other models or the actual HT itself. I was under the impression that wings just let it move fast, but maybe someone out there has the answer. Thanks!
I see no reason why not, but there is some ambiguity amung real rules lawery types. Basicalliy the wings say that the tyranid then "Moves as jump infantry." In the rulebook, the section of rules for how jump infantry move also contains the ruling "Jump infantry may deepstrike"
In theory this means yes, it should be able to deep strike, but the lawers say that it only MOVES as jump infantry, it dosnt get the Deep strike ruling, because thats not how the models move. This sounds ridiculous to me but there we go.
So in summary, Yes it can, but theres a little bit of ambiguity around. Unless thats been cleard up and i havnt noticed, in which case could someone please tell me where that is because ive hit exactly that problem.
Your friendly neighbourhood gargantuan creature
The Hive Tyrant may deepstrike, there is nothing in the Tyranid codex which says it cannot. If there was a difference from other units with jump packs (wings) it would be stated in the codex. To say it has been left out is not enough. Wings give a Hive Tyrant the same abilities as any other troops with jump packs and the Hive Tyrant may deepstrike.
Yes it can. This was discussed in the Rules Help section as well.
But it is not always a good idea. For one thing, usually you're left out in the open without any cover.
Record: Win - Loss - Draw: Hive Fleet Pandora (New) 32-6-6 Space Wolf 7th Co. 52-11-6
Blood Angels 12-4-2 Daemonhunters 20-8-3
Imperial Guards 12-5-2 Daemons 8-3-2
Thanks for the help, folks! <3
Yep, it deepstrikes. I love deepstriking with it! A DS-ing tyrant with a drop-pod nid list is pretty impressive. Plus our latest codex has no limit on the number of winged tyrants you can have so it's viable to throw in as many as your force org chart allows!