Welcome to Librarium Online!
So, at my store we play Old One Eye like this (could apply to all carnifexes with crushing claws). Old One Eye gets 5 attacks at Initiative 3 when charging due to his Living Battering Ram Rule. Then his claws make D3 attacks at Initiative 1. This seems to make sense and is the most effective in gameplay terms. Also the IG (and Space Marine I think) codex already have a precedent for this type of ability. Quoting from the IG Codex, "A servo-arm grants a model an additional close-combat attack that strikes at Initiative 1..."
Now I've read a few unofficial FAQs and they make the claim that ALL of Old One Eye's attacks strike at Initiative 1. Sadly I re-read the codex and the RAW clearly state that yes he does. Crushing claw attacks, I am very, very, VERY sad to say do not work like a Tech-priest's servo-arm.
So here's my problem with all this.
Old One Eye is a special character that comes with wargear that ALWAYS forces him to strike at I1 (crushing claws). He is also given a special ability that is completely negated by the wargear he possesses (living battering ram). So the logic seems to be that Old One Eye has the Living Battering Ram rule in order to make sure that everyone knows he's a carnifex.
So there's no doubt...he is in fact a carnifex...
He's been given a special rule with no value to make sure everyone understands that he is a model type (carnifex) that has no relevance whatsoever to 40k in gameplay terms. Apart from Living Battering Ram, there is not one single rule in the entire game of 40k that specifically affects "Carnifexes" They may as well have given him the Living Dodge Stratus rule so everyone will know he is a Pith Helmet.
This all strikes me as shoddy, sloppy game design of the first order.
PS: We still intend to play with Carnifexes according to the house rules since the alternative is too silly to bear..
so you had a question?
I think he just wanted to rant about the fact that Living Battering Ram is useless on anything you give Crushing Claws too. I completely agree
I would bet he checked RAW in the middle of posting and just decided to post it anyway. Just to clarify, yes LBR doesn't do anything for OOE, or any Carnifex you give Crushing Claws to, however sad that may be.
though crushing claws on tervigons are balls to the wall awesome
So what if he has crushing claws?
you can just decide not to use them, like any other wargear/biomorph.
You ar fighting against some marines with I4? Rev up the claws, as you are striking last anyway.
Find yourself facing an uber Powerclawed boss? Just don't use them, strike at I3 and hope to kill the bugger before he is able to strike back at you!
- Just love that maki! -