Advice vs the Imperial Guard - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Junior Member SovietComrade's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Mucking about
    Age
    26
    Posts
    5
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    Advice vs the Imperial Guard

    Hi, so I'm just starting with the orks, and my brother is starting with the IG. The main problem I'm having with him is his command squad's standard bearer. This makes his guardsmen do two wounds in melee, effectively killing two boyz with one hit. My ork mob gets slaughter in mere moments vs his platoon line, and I can't win at range. I've tried nobz and burnas in a trukk, but his loads of at just destroy the trukk before it can reach him. My deffkoptas are also very lackluster most of the time.

    Any tips or advice when fighting him?

    SovietComrade
    -Minister of Tea

  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Warboss Alf Cossack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Age
    52
    Posts
    587
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    140 (x3)

    What's this 'cause two wounds' thing? I'm not sure that's right.

    Anyway....you're doing it right. Just run at him and pound him.

  4. #3
    Junior Member SovietComrade's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Mucking about
    Age
    26
    Posts
    5
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    Well, in his codex, it says anyone within 6" of the standard bearer, hits for two wounds for the purposes of melee. So, I;m not quite sure what that means.
    SovietComrade
    -Minister of Tea

  5. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Age
    33
    Posts
    25
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    I think the rule is that the unit with the standard counts as doing an extra wound for the purposes of resolving which side has won the melee - they don't actually inflict this wound (it's only 1 extra, not 1 per model in the command squad), just add it to the wounds inflicted to determine who has to roll for falling back etc.

    That's off the top of my head, but it's near the mark I think.

    As for the question - run, bash, maybe throw in some shouting? It all adds up :-)

  6. #5
    LO Zealot mynameisgrax's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Freehold, NJ
    Posts
    4,014
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    511 (x8)

    Yeah, they don't actually inflict any more wounds than normal. The only difference the standard makes is when you add up the total number of wounds inflicted, after close combat is finished, any unit (by unit we mean the entire group of men, not each individual model) within 6in of the standard bearer counts as if they inflicted one more wound, but only for the purposes of determining who won the close combat. No wounds are actually inflicted.
    "Any job worth doing, is worth doing with a powerklaw."
    http://www.librarium-online.com/foru.../mynameisgrax/

  7. #6
    Member jroode's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Toledo, OH
    Age
    37
    Posts
    168
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    22 (x1)

    For confirmation: Grax is 100% right.

  8. #7
    Junior Member SovietComrade's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Mucking about
    Age
    26
    Posts
    5
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    Well thanks, that makes a WHOLE lot of difference. Maybe now his guardsmen will not be gods among men.
    SovietComrade
    -Minister of Tea

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts