Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Perhaps this should be a question for the 40k rules section but I always prefer asking players of the army directly since not everyone checks the rules section. Apologies if this has already been asked but I am new to tyranids and did a search with nothing specific showing up.
My opponent placed a tervignon in a mycetic spore. Dropped it by my heavy weapons squads. It then spawned and he argued that since the codex says that spawned gants can move/shoot/assault immediately they assaulted my heavy weapons teams.
I argued that this is not legal but could not really come up with a good counter to his argument at the time. But since then I bought a tyranid codex and am building the army and noticed that the tervignon ability states that spawning happens before moving and the mycetic spore deep strikes which would normally equate to moving so I thought aha it is illegal.
But then my friend/opponent said that the unit that comes out of the spore is stated as deploying not deep striking.
Who is right me or him and if him then please tell me where/how I can get or make models for both these awesome units.
I believe you were right, as deepstriking happens at the start of the movement phase, so would collide with the tempistics of the spawning ability.
Furthermore... I'm not so sure that tervigons can actually take a spore, but I don't have my dex with me and can't check on it.
- Just love that maki! -
Tervigons don't have the option to take myscetic spores at all, so the issue you're talking about will never actually happen.
ninjabackhand: point and click, again, really? even after i give you an military term "shock tactic" you still call it point and click.
RIP Warhammer 40,000: 21 Sep 1998 - 24 May 2014
Nope they can´t. Sure they are HQ´s but they are not IC´s
Mmmm... can anyone enlighten me why a tervigon cannot take a mycetic spore??? It says that it can transport a unit of 20 infantry minis or a unique monstruos creature.
Edited: OK, ok i see the entry of the tervigon does not have the setion for taking a mycetic spore as transport.
Last edited by mente enjambre; May 5th, 2010 at 14:24.
BEST ARMY APPEARANCE AND OVERALL WINNER OF A LOCAL GW RTT (29-7-06) GODZILLA/CHOIR 2K ARMY LIST
You gotta love these types of questions:
A happened, followed by B and C. Is C legal?
Well, actually A is impossible...so C is also impossible...
Applaud, my friend, the Comedy is finished.
Hive Fleet Charybdis (1-0-0) and Grey Brothers Space Wolf Chapter (3-1-2) [W-L-T]
yeah the fact that it can take a monstrous creature is confusing because after searching the codes the only MC I can see that can take a spore is a carnifex and I would seriously question the benefit of taking a single carnifex and dropping him out of synapse.
Why? They rage, not cower when out of synapse (if failed LD). If you position it just right you'll be fine with a lone fex romping around. Besides just seeing a fex having fun never hurt anyone...well on your side at least.
Tyranid and Eldar player....don't ask me how I ended up playing these two armies, just smile, nod, slowly move away and don't make eye contact!