Welcome to Librarium Online!
I've searched high and low, thru the faq's but have yet to get a definitive answer on this. Say I use the veil to teleport a unit of wraiths to within assault range(and of course i get lucky on the roll and not deviate).... Can the wraiths assault that turn? or do standard deep strike rules apply and they basically have to sit there and eat it up for a turn? The way I've understood it so far(or should i say justified) is that the teleportation is simply in lieu of their standard movement and thus they should be able to assault. Idk, i'm kinda confused, help me out here.
I wonder if there will be cake.....
The codex quite expressly says "...using the Deep Strike rules" as the Deep Strike rules quite clearly say you can't assault after Deep Striking then you can't assault after Deep Striking. Simple.
BTW, this is why its recommended to use Immortals or Warriors with the Veil instead of Flayed Ones or Wraiths.
Revenant Moon Necrons: (W/L/D) 0/1/0 (6th edition: 13/2/2)(5th edition: 14/6/4)(3rd edition Codex: 16/4/7)
XIX Legion: (W/L/D) 0/0/0 (5th edition: 14/12/2)(5th edition Codex: 4/3/0)
Black Legion: (W/L/D) 1/0/0 (6th edition: 2/3/0)
Something Wicked... Reikwald Beastmen: (W/L/D) 10/4/1
the premise behind the veil is not only to add an offensive aspect that's instantly gratifying, though it's probably most effective when used in that fashion with immortals. definitely not with wraiths most of the time as they can turbo boost, but you can effectively redeploy flayed ones to a threatened flank if need be at your whim, should a Lord be nearby. but, yeah...getting all those shots make immortals super worth it over most other units.