Welcome to Librarium Online!
I am sure this has come up at some point with as many mech-ork armies scourging the 40k universe , which is why I am posting it here.
The quick of it is, I was less than 24 inches away from some space marine bikers who had just come in from reserve, with a truck carrying 5 nobs and a pain boy. The space marine player has positioned his bikes less than 6 inches from the road, and I wanted to assault them.
Page 57 says "Vehicles...... move at cruising speed following a road..... may move up to an extra 6 inches"
This seemed good, but I thought to check the rules for transports and fast transports.
The rules for transports seemed a dead end so I then checked under fast vehicles on page 70 in the paragrapgh which says," Passengers may not embark or disembark.......if the vehicle has moved flat out in that movement phase."
I read the sum of these statements to mean that i can move 18" down the road as long as I stay on the road (moving at cruising and getting the 6" bonus), then I can disembark at the end of this trip and assualt since it is open topped. Especially since it does not specifically say this counts as flat out movement in the roads blurb. This becomes important especially because moving flat out would also stop people from being able to fire.
My opponent, unhappy with the idea of losing 6 space marine bikers with an attack bike, argued that technically moving at 18" is considered flat out even though it was derived through the bonus speed given by the roads to cruising speed.
To be gentlemen, we diced for it, with the understanding the question would be posted on Librarium.
I look forward to hearing your responses.
Last edited by Johnny Dangerous; May 12th, 2010 at 09:39.
I think you should get the bonus...it's there for a reason....like the 'red paint job' gives you that 1" bonus
But you did the right thing by dicing for it.
Indeed, a gentlemanly response.
Vehicle movement is determined by speed, then bonuses are added. A fast vehicle at cruising speed goes 12", then you'd get the additional 6" for the road; it wouldn't make you move "flat out" any more than the additional 1" you'd get for the red paint job would.
I agree, it's simply an additional bonus. If you were to move flat out on the road, you'd go your full distance for flat out speed and then still gain the extra road distance.
A DE raider can move 24" Flat out as 12 cruising +6 road - as skimmer always on road +6 flat out
With skimmer always the road ability comes first, you don`t flat out than add on the extra 6" for being a skimmer! They don`t Flat out at 18", this is their cruising speed. (Cheese to be Mechdar)
now You have: 12 cruising + 6 road + 6 flat out
You can assault after moving 12 or 18 on road
I agree with the consensus, both that you can disembark after moving up to 18in on a road, and that the appropriate decision during the game was to dice it off.
"Any job worth doing, is worth doing with a powerklaw."
Yeah, have to start and end the vehicle on the road though. I guess that's what "follow" means.
I don't see anywhere how skimmers get the road bonus, or anything similar... care to point me in a direction? I looked in the skimmer rules and the road rules (pg57)
I have to disagree.
It allows you to move an extra 6'', no where does it say you gain any benefit other than that.
A vehicle that moves 18'' or more is moving flat out.
Red paint job specifically says that it does not cause any other effect than allowing you to move an extra inch, roads do not.
Roads are mostly useful for moving large distances, say you want your trukk to move 24'' or a rhino wants to move 18''. Neither would be able to shoot or do anything else that turn.
Good catch, shabang.