Welcome to Librarium Online!
if i get three markerlights on a rhino, and i use one to blow it up with a seeker missile,
do the other two transfer over to the squad inside of it?
or do they just go to waste?
and another thing,
devilfish aren't classified as dedicated transports,
so are they able to pick up any ol' infantry unit?
for example, if i took a squad of pathfinders,
could i use their mandatory devilfish for a squad of fire warriors?
just curious about these things,
if any of you could help it'd be greatly appreciated.
and if you can help, could you make references to the rulebook or the tau codex directly?
first question, the excess markerlight hits are lost. They don't transfer.
second question, devilfish are dedicated transports but any unit of firewarriors/pathfinders/kroot (not with kroot ox) can embark on it. (If the unit isn't the owner of the transport they must start disemarked when they deploy)
Mirage Arcana Podcast
The "A Smart Player Will..." theory is a complete paradox. If we make an assumption that everything we do is outsmarted, then theoretically we can never win.
Markerlight hits are denoted by tokens (I use spare bases) each ML hit generates a token. These tokens are active until the end of the current Tau shooting phase and are only used against the unit the ML unit hit. So the Rhino has been hit by three ML's and has three tokens against it, you can use each token to either up the BS by +1 to a maximum of BS5 of another unit shooting the Rhino, launch a Seeker missile for each token or reduce the cover save of the vehicle by -1 for each token.
If you used the three tokens to launch a Seeker and reduce the cover save by -2 (two tokens) then you would have to declare this before you launched the Seeker, you cannot launch the seeker, get a successful hit and then declare you are using the two remaining tokens to reduce the cover save. Basically you have to declare any intended use before the action.
So if you fired a Seeker and popped the Rhino the other tokens would be discarded because you can do nothing further to the Rhino. If the Seeker missed you could utilise the remaining ML tokens in any of the ways detailed above by other units shooting at the Rhino.
Transported units are separate units to the transport vehicle and the remaining tokens cannot be used against them, .
This is why it is so vital to choose your ML targets carefully. I usually fire all my high BS units first, then fire the ML units before the units that can benefit form the ML tokens. The only exception to this is if I need the ML tokens to reduce cover saves or to launch Seekers. Doing this means I maximise my shooting and ML tokens. The timing of ML firing and indeed the whole Tau shooting phase is an art form in itself.
Page reference for the ML's is Tau codex 29.
Devilfish are indeed Dedicated transports, you can only purchase them for Fire Warrior teams and Pathfinder teams as a transport option (hence dedicated). You cannot purchase Devilfish as stand alone undedicated transports as per Landraiders (and no Devilfish are NOT a troops choice before anyone chirps in).
The dedicated transport rules are in the main 40K rulebook on page 67
thanks for the help guys.
to clear this up,
if i mark a loaded transport,
the markerlights don't transfer to the unit inside it if i blow the transport up.
devilfish are capable of carrying any basic infantry unit.
ie: i can buy a Pathfinder Devilfish, but use it to transport my fire-warriors across the field.
Both are correct, yes.