Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Well i have a question does a hive tyrants hive commander work if its in reserves?
i was wondering the same thing but as of now i think so as it says while it is alive .....
so it should work for the +1 reserve roll and outflank
also on another note regarding hive commander if have a unit of warriors outflanking due to hive commander have an attached prime
i know independent characters dont pick up units specials but they dont gain infiltrate special ability one troops choice may outflank
as i can put the prime with the warriors in a pod would i be able to do this?
From my understanding, yes to the 1st, and no to the 2nd. For the HC the non-exact wording is as long as the tyrant is ALIVE. Not deployed. And for the outflanking, I don't think so, but I'll leave it up to more experienced players for a definite answer.
Akruze has it right the effect works when the Tyrant is alive, not just when deployed.
As for melvins i looked into this a bit further, and no you cant. Putting the Prime in a pod with warriors is totally different from giving them the outflanking rule. A pod is an upgrade to a unit, meaning there is no special rule being given to the unit at all
If it helps, think of Ork Nobs. They become a troops choice if you have a warboss in your army. But if you attach him to the Nobs, he does not become a troops choice aswell. Its the same thing here, you give one unit the outflank rule, the IC dose not gain the rule because he is not a part of that "One troops choice" and cannot gain it because, as you say, the skill dosnt transfer.
Last edited by Heirodule; June 3rd, 2010 at 10:04.
Your friendly neighbourhood gargantuan creature
But the thing is there is no outflank special rule. The special rule allowing a unit to outflank is scout. They do not gain this, they are just able to outflank.
Last edited by mellvins059; June 3rd, 2010 at 16:00.
Also a unit of 10 space marines and a captain is still considered a troop choice
But..... a unit of 10 scouts and a captain is a troops choice which can't outflank (or even infiltrate), even though scouts normally can.
Easiest way to figure it is - if you attached a prime to a unit of genestealers, would they be able to outflank? Answer is no
If I've replied, i've probably used Italics...
www.goodbyeboltgun.blogspot.com - Some of my stuff.
The difference is the geanstealers cant outflank with the prime because they have a special ability called scout which the prime would not gain when joining the unit. On the other hand outflank is not a special rule so there is no reason not to believe a prime could not be attached in the same wa as it could be put in a mycetic spore with the warriors.
Last edited by mellvins059; June 3rd, 2010 at 15:59. Reason: didnt check wording
It's a gray area, for sure. I think the RAW is more correct to deny Outflanking if you've attached a Prime to a Warrior unit. But I suspect Jervis Johnson wouldn't think twice about letting it go. I know I wouldn't be bothered by it and would definitely allow it.
ninjabackhand: point and click, again, really? even after i give you an military term "shock tactic" you still call it point and click.
RIP Warhammer 40,000: 21 Sep 1998 - 24 May 2014
When you purchase a land raider as a dedicated transport for a terminator squad, the terminator unit is the only one which is allowed to start the game in the land raider yet people often deploy them with independent characters in them. Thus in this sake the independent character is not counted as a unit for the purpose. Therefore why would the same not apply here when there is nothing proven otherwise.