Welcome to Librarium Online!
On p.58 of the codex it says that "no armour saves" are allowed against The Doom of Malan'tai's Spirit Leech ability. So can the enemy take invulnerable saves, and even cover saves? Sorry if this has been asked before; I did a quick search but nothing came up.
Yeah doom of malanthi is probably the most argued over unit in the entire codex. However from what has been decided for the most part by the online community, is as Horowitz Tal says, Invulnerable yes. Cover, most say no.
Theres aslo the issue of transports and weither or not the effect works on them, but that is such a grey area its best left well alone.
Your friendly neighbourhood gargantuan creature
Psykers can use psychic abilities while in a vehicle, units can shoot from inside a vehicle as long as the vehicle has hatches and if the unit is a troop choice inside a vehicle then the unit is allowed to claim objectives.
My stand point on all of this is that any model embarked in a vehicle as long as that vehicle is on the table and is to be considered in play. Since the units are in play they can therefore become an active part of the game which means as long as they are within 6" of the doom they are targets of the ability.
The guys are all correct on the stance that Invulnerable Saves may be taken against Spirit Leech, as the ruling would have actually said "no saves of any kind are allowed against these wounds", and they are also correct about their not being any cover saves, as cover only applies to a physical shot being fired, or a unit assaulting into a unit in cover, and as neither are being performed, the units targeted may not benefit from this form of save.
Light a fire for a man, and he will be warm for a night. Light a man on fire, and he will be warm for the rest of his life.
The only issue with hitting a unit inside a transport is that most PSI abilities are not allowed to target them. So many argue the same with doom's abilities.
The biggest problem with allowing the Doom to affect embarked units is that there are no rules for what happens when a Morale check is failed. The situation itself is entirely undefined. And because Spirit Leech clearly is a psyker power -- fluffwise, if not RAW-wise -- seems best to not open Pandora's Box and allow Spirit Leech to affect embarked units.
ninjabackhand: point and click, again, really? even after i give you an military term "shock tactic" you still call it point and click.
RIP Warhammer 40,000: 21 Sep 1998 - 24 May 2014
Except parasite specifically says it can target a unit in a vehicle, doom does not.
IMHO it's a tossup. I've heard both sides of the issue and neither have a clear path to being correct. For this one I'd suggest talking it over with your opponent/club before you play so everyone has a clear understanding of what doom can do.
Speaking purely from a RAW standpoint(is there any other?), the unit is not on the field and thus could not be targeted by nor affected by any psychic powers. Troops can fire there weapons from open topped vehicles as if they were on the field at that point, but this is an exception to the rule. You cannot shoot back at the unit inside the open topped vehicle because they are not actually on the field. Spirit Leech describes no specific exceptions and as such should not be allowed any exceptions.
Unless someone can find me a ruling that states something like "this unit counts as being on the field at this point, blah blah blah" then I can't see why anyone would think otherwise. If you can't find a solid ruling to back up an argument, don't bother coming in here saying "RAI". All you're saying then is "I don't play by the rules" and if that's the truth then keep it to yourself.
I'd also like to make it perfectly clear, I argue with the intent to learn. If I was absolutely certain in my stance, I wouldn't bother speaking up on a forum. So, think of this as a challenge to prove me wrong. Just be sure and use quotes and page numbers.