Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
how does fast shot work with a dark reaper exarch with an eldar missile launcher firing the plasma profile?
do you put two blast templates on the target, or just one and double the hits? or something else entirely?
Fast shot specified it adds +1 to the number of shots fired by the weapon, so if you're firing EML plasma which has the profile: Heavy 1, Blast, Pinning.. it becomes Heavy 2, Blast, Pinning. That means you have 2 seperate blast templates (tho usually places in the exact same place for the most hits) and you roll two seperate scatters, one for each blast.
i seem to remember reading a rule about doubling hits
is that just if the first template rolls a hit on the scatter dice? cause it seems reasonable in that scenario that you'd just double the hits instead of placing a 2nd template.
then again, i think i saw that in the 4TH edition rulebook, so i'm not sure if it changed.
or am i thinking of the old rules for chaos space marine havoc launchers?
man my memory sucks haha
BRB pg.30 - multiple blasts - "resolve each shot one at a time"
alright cool, thanks for clearing it up for me
I don't know if you're thinking of an older rule, but Fast Shot works the same as any other 2 shot blast weapon, as Eris pointed out-- you place two blast markers separately, and roll for scatter for each of them.
eris and archon are correct, it used to be that you place the template next to the original blast but now its completely seperate for simplicity
placing the blast templates next to each other is a Barrage rule in 5th edition. Though as the Plasma missile is not barrage...
If a unit is firing more than one blast weapon (for
example, four Space Marine Devastators fire four frag
missiles at an enemy), resolve each shot, one at the
time, as described above, determining and recording
how many hits are scored by each blast marker.
Finally fire any other weapon in the unit, then add all
of the hits together and roll to wound as normal.
Thanks for making me re-read this! The important part that I had missed previously is that while each blast shot is 'resolved' one at a time. This only includes for counting hits, not wounds. So the same troops can still be covered by multiple templates. Then wounds are worked out after. Perhaps I'm the only one that missed this...but I had been completely resolving each blast individually which allowed my opponents to pull casualties before the next blast was placed.
glad i could help, then
Actually I've just decided we're all completely wrong.
The tempest launcher is a guess weapon, so it's a barrage. As such it should obey the multiple barrage rules on pg 32 of the BRB.