A question about zoanthropes - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    Senior Member TheNightbringer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Age
    25
    Posts
    509
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    13 (x2)

    A question about zoanthropes

    Zoanthropes have a 5+ armour save(due to their reinforced chitin) and a 3+ invulnerable save(due to their warp field).
    What can be the use of this? Even Grey Knight weaponry, which ignores invulnerable saves has AP5(incinerator) or AP4(Psycannon and Psycannon Bolts), so neither of the zoanthrope saves is allowed..

    I'm totally confused...!


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    230
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    11 (x1)

    Where's the confusion? If the weapon ignores invulnerable saves then fair enough.
    Most weapons don't though. So no matter what the AP value you still get the invulnerable save.
    Oroto ego sum

  4. #3
    Junior Member Grobuff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    14
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    8 (x1)

    I think he was just wondering if there are actually any specific circumstanes in the game where a Zoan's armor save would actually be used.

  5. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    230
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    11 (x1)

    Don't you get to use it if a weapons is AP6 or below?

    I admit I'm new to the current rules but if it's the same as when I used to play you roll twice. Once for the armour and once for the invul save.
    Last edited by CunningStunt; June 23rd, 2010 at 17:49.
    Oroto ego sum

  6. #5
    Senior Member mente enjambre's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    vitoria (spain)
    Age
    35
    Posts
    253
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    12 (x1)

    Then you cannot use none of them, simple and fast!
    BEST ARMY APPEARANCE AND OVERALL WINNER OF A LOCAL GW RTT (29-7-06) GODZILLA/CHOIR 2K ARMY LIST

  7. #6
    Junior Member Grobuff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    14
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    8 (x1)

    Quote Originally Posted by CunningStunt View Post
    Don't you get to use it if a weapons is AP6 or below?

    I admit I'm new to the current rules but if it's the same as when I used to play you roll twice. Once for the armour and once for the invul save.
    I am under the impression you only roll one save, whether it be armor, invulnerable or cover; as per the rulebook.

  8. #7
    Son of LO Heirodule's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    2,138
    Mentioned
    7 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    344 (x8)

    @cunning stunt, grobuff is right, you get 1 save thats it, you cant roll armour and invulnerable saves.

    @ the OP, there is quite litteraly, no occasion in the entire of 40k when you would ever roll that save. Ive been through this codex by codex, and it will not happen. Ever

    I belive the reasoning is that by including the 5+ save the profile is filled still, but it will never be used. Or cuddace was a moron and missed it completly
    Your friendly neighbourhood gargantuan creature

  9. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    230
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    11 (x1)

    Fair enough. I'm only really au fait with the 2nd ed rules and they were a while back!
    Oroto ego sum

  10. #9
    Supreme Evil Overlord Dreachon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    the Netherlands
    Age
    34
    Posts
    4,873
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    189 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by Heirodule View Post
    @cunning stunt, grobuff is right, you get 1 save thats it, you cant roll armour and invulnerable saves.

    @ the OP, there is quite litteraly, no occasion in the entire of 40k when you would ever roll that save. Ive been through this codex by codex, and it will not happen. Ever

    I belive the reasoning is that by including the 5+ save the profile is filled still, but it will never be used. Or cuddace was a moron and missed it completly
    Have you forgotten about incinerators, psycannons and a number of other DH / WH ietms that will ignore invulnerable saves, sadly most of them will also ignore your armour.

  11. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Age
    34
    Posts
    133
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    8 (x1)

    I think he means that every single weapon in 40k that ignores Invulnerable saves is AP5 or better.

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts