Welcome to Librarium Online!
The new tyranid FAQ just came out. You can find it here.
Unfortunately, 2 hive commanders don't stack. However, it does stack with the Swarmlord's Alien Cunning.
Some of the bigger controversies answered - Mawlocs can deepstrike on top of enemy units and the Doom of Ma'lantai does not affect units in transports.
There are a couple of surprise rulings IMO:
1) Independent characters cannot join a unit in a mycetic spore.
2) If you take a spore, you have to deplore in it.
3) Shadows in the Warp cannot affect psykers in transports. This is a bad call. Now Lash or Jaws in a rhino will reign supreme against nids.
Overall, I think this FAQ is a mixed bag.
Record: Win - Loss - Draw: Hive Fleet Pandora (New) 32-6-6 Space Wolf 7th Co. 52-11-6
Blood Angels 12-4-2 Daemonhunters 20-8-3
Imperial Guards 12-5-2 Daemons 8-3-2
This one confuses me, I was unaware you could hide from an "Aura" of powerQ: Can cover saves be taken against wounds inflicted
by the Doom of Malant’tai’s Spirit Leech ability?
Oh for the love of god finally!
Agreed with Jy2, this one is interesting:No Tyranid Pime deepstriking with the warriorsQ: If a Tyranid unit takes a Mycetic Spore, can an
Independent Character join the brood before
deployment (and hence deep strike in with the brood)?
Last edited by Hockeyman506; July 1st, 2010 at 01:37.
I kinda thought it was a pretty timely FAQ. Though some of the rulings seem pretty odd. The Tervigons no shooting if onslaught is used for example. Or Each Zoanthrope in a brood must take a separate psychic test (which is just plain annoying and time consuming). Also, the "no consolidation after assaulting a spore mine" seems a bit contradictory but hey, thems the rules. Mixed bag indeed.
And now my bitter hands cradle broken glassOf what was everything... - Black by Pearl Jam
Incredibly disappointed with a few of these, although some seemed to clear up some good questions I've had.
Cover saves from Aura? No thanks. Stupid call.
No Primes deepstriking with Warriors in a pod? Can't all the other armies do this? (Space Wolves/Blood Angles)
No Shadow of the Warp for units in vehicles, yet they can cast FROM the vehicle? Double standard (just like above).
Chaos - 55,000+ points
Tyranids - 15,000+ points
Necrons - 6000 points
That FAQ was pretty much just nerfs, Doom got even worse than I expected, having cover against it makes it awful. No more shooty Warriors with a Prime is a blow, that was a pretty strong unit. Mawlocs could already Deep Strike on people, only whiners who cling to RAW said otherwise. I don't know why they cut a middle of the pack Codex so deeply, when much of it wasn't necessary.
Check my Blog for Battle Reports, useless ranting and more! Comments appreciated.
Like to talk Warhammer or want some advice on Armies or Tactics? Drop me a PM!
it's like: "let's make a super strong spirit-sucking dino-bug that consumed an entire craft world... oh, wait... cover save... humm.... the craft world eldar were stupid to not figure out that if you'll be in a vehicle or behind some rocks you'll be saved???"
Doom is a punch straight to the face.
Mawloc is good to show the lawyers.
Alpha warrior are the warrior leaders, wait... the hive is not smart enough to send them with the rest of the warriors.... but the rest of the races do? like that broodlord is the 1st genestealer that reached the plant and is with the stealers, why isn't the Alpha a part of the warriors, or why doesn't he have bodyguards/ come in a group of several(example: come in 1-5, 1 is IC, 2-5 is a group of ultra-strong warriors as an HQ choice ).
Yh, I wrote a summary yesterday when the FAQ first appeared, but LO was down...
Here it is:
Multiple close combat weapon effects now stack.
Hive Tyrant Hive Commander effects do not stack.
Instinctive Behaviour tests are not required on the same turn as the model has arrived from reserve.
However, reserve rolls bonuses provided by different models (Lictors, Hive Tyrant etc) do stack.
Zoanthropes are individual in the sense that they can use different psychic powers and roll separately for Perils of the Warp.
Models that were going to enter by Deep strike or Outflank can not use the Trygon's Subterranean Assault ability.
Mawlocs can now Deep strike onto enemy models on purpose, but cover saves are allowed against the Terror of the Deep.
Independent Characters joined to a brood of Termagants that are effected by the Brood Progenitor are also affected.
Independent characters can not join a unit that is Deep Striking with a Mycetic Spore.
Doom of Malan'tai spirit leech, psychic scream and Shadow in the Warp does not affect troops inside vehicles now...
Cover saves are allowed against the Doom of Malan'tai Spirit Leech.
yup, its pretty much just nerfing of differant abilities in each question...
Quote of the Week (Number 3) - "It is impossible to defeat an ignorant man in argument." - William Gibbs McAdoo (1863-1941)
Ruina's Hive - My personal Blog
Thanks for the faq alert
i'm confused or missing something obvious, how can you take a cover save from a mawlocs terror from the deep attack? In what situation would you have terrain to take cover from if the worm's coming from underneath the target???
Is it considered to be a shooting attack?