Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
So, this hasn't come up in a game or anything but I'm currently working on a conversion for this beastie and have been contemplating his usefullness.
The codex says "Your opponent must take a Toughness test for each model removed as a casualty because of Wounds inflicted by the Parasite of Mortrex..."
My question is, does chasing down a unit (and thus removing every model as a casualty)which flees due to wounds caused by the Parasite count in this case, especially if the Parasite was the only Tyranid combatant? For example, if the Parasite charges a 10 man unit of guardsmen and kills 3 in combat, then the guard fail their leadership test and flee, subsequently being caught and destroyed by the Parasite, does the unit take 3 toughness tests or 10? Do the last 7 guardsmen count as removed because of wounds caused by the Parasite, or because of failing their leadership test? What if they failed on say a 7 on 2d6 for example, which normally would have passed but due to Wounds caused by the Parasite, is a fail?
I am leaning towards 3 but I am interested to hear peoples arguements one way or the other. This would of course be complicated by multiple unit combats.
And now my bitter hands cradle broken glassOf what was everything... - Black by Pearl Jam
WH40K rule book, page 46, Assaults while Falling back, second paragraph:WH40K rule book, page 40, Sweeping advances, First dot point:If an enemy unit declares an assault against a unit that is falling back... blah blah blah... If the test is failed, the unit is destroyed and the assaulting unit does not move at all.No wounds or casualties are inflicted, the unit just scatters, falls apart and runs away from the battle. The lost the will to fight anymore.If the winners total is equal or greater they catch the fleeing enemy with a sweeping advance. The falling back unit is destroyed...
WH40K rule book, page 44, Taking Morale Checks, C) Losing an Assault, 3rd paragraph:Doesn't matter if the Parasite inflicted it which caused them to fail the test. They require x to pass, if they don't, they don't. It doesn't matter what their leadership would have been before the nerf to their leadership happened.Example: An Imperial Guard squad has lost an assault. They would normally require a 7 or less to pass the Leadership test, but since they have lost the fight by a difference of 2 Wounds (-2), they now require a 5 or less to hold their ground.
I understand where your coming at, but GW tends to be really bad at not having loopholes in their wording of the rules...
Hope that helped
Last edited by Hive Fleet Ruina; July 17th, 2010 at 15:39.
Quote of the Week (Number 3) - "It is impossible to defeat an ignorant man in argument." - William Gibbs McAdoo (1863-1941)
Ruina's Hive - My personal Blog