Warbikes, cover or no cover? - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    Son of LO andrewbeater's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Lindsay, Ontario, Canada
    Age
    48
    Posts
    2,708
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    168 (x7)

    Warbikes, cover or no cover?

    I was playing a buddy who plays Orks and I play Chaos Daemons (normally). In this particular fight, my Bloodletters attacked his Warbikes in hand to hand combat. Because Bloodletters use power swords, his wounds should be death, no save right? Wrong (according to him). He claims the bikes get a cover save in the assault phase. Now, I may be new at this, but I have read the rules carefully and cover repeatedly refers to being fired at by ranged weapons. It makes sense that you could duck behind rocks or a wall when being fired at or in this case, have a cover save from smoke. But in hand to hand combat? Sure it's smokey, but both combatants are right in front of each other. There is no rule that suggests the Warbike moves around during the battle. I can't find clarification in the FAQ or the Ork codex. So I put it before you, does a Warbike get a cover save in hand to hand combat? Is there such a thing as a cover save in combat? And if you do think the Ork does get a cover save, why shouldn't the opponent get one as well if there is a lot of smoke and these combatants are not moving around?


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    LO Oldie
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    California, USA
    Posts
    1,248
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    34 (x3)

    You are right. Cover saves may not be taken in assault
    2000pts Orks 4-2-1

  4. #3
    Son of LO kevin vanrooyen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    2,884
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    452 (x8)

    Yep, cover saves are a special type of saving throw you can make when you suffer wounds from shooting attacks.

    Close combat is not a shooting attack.

    The Emperor Protects
    IG Best Gen 1st overall of 10 DE 4th overall of 6
    Eldar 3rd Overall/Best General of 26--2nd Overall/Best General of 7--1st Overall/Best General of 11

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts