Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Ok, after being beaten bad by my sons' Space Marines, he and I had a new battle where he was controlling my Necron army (such as it is) and I was using my Chaos Daemons. Now I doubt this particular scenario would come up often but here's what happened: my Bloodletters ran down some Necron Warriors who were near, but not grouped with his Necron Lord w/ res orb. When the combat began, the warriors were positioned inside 6" to the Lord but far enough away from the Lord so that the Lord did not join the unit. Clear as mud? Now the Bloodletters destroyed all 10 of the Warriors who normally would die outright from power weapons. But since the warriors were within 6" of the res orb, they were just knocked over awaiting the WWBB rule next round. Now here's the thing, when the warriors rise next round, are they or are they not still locked into close combat with the Bloodletters? If they are, there is a big advantage to the Bloodletters, but if they are not locked into combat, the warriors can turn around and shoot the Bloodletters to heck. i can't find clarification on this anywhere.
They still need a necron within 6" to be able to WBB, the Orb only helps by giving your necrons WBB if hit with power weapon or double strength weapon. So no necron within 6" therefore no WBB and they are gone.. If necrons within 6" then they join that unit.
Last edited by Bruce; August 12th, 2010 at 05:23.
I read the rule(s) and they seem a bit fuzzy. You mean that the warriors who are killed by a power sword must be within 6" of both a res orb AND a model of the same type or they are all dead? I thought the only thing they needed to get the WWBB rule is to be within 6" of the res orb. Cool.
They need to be within 6" if another unit of the same type, in this case another Warrior squad. If you've got a Tomb Spyder within 12", this overrides that rule, turning it into you having to have Warriors somewhere on the field. When the 'crons do get back up, they join the closest unit of the same type. If that unit is in close combat, they go into close combat.
The only thing a Rez Orb does is prevent special cases that would prevent WBB (Power Weapons, Instant Death, etc).
It does not override the requirements to get WBB normally.
Last edited by CrownAxe; August 12th, 2010 at 10:07.
There are two tests.
1) Res orb has to be within 6" of the SQUAD, not the actual unit dying. This is because you can allocate wounds in 5th edition differently.
2) Second, you test for WBB at the start of the NECRON players turn, not during the actual assault. Thus each model needs to be within 6" of a fellow Necron to make the test.
"There is only do, or do not. There is no try." - Yoda
The Res Orb is not in and of itself capable of permitting a WBB roll with the exception of when it is being applied to the Necron Lord himself, if he loses his last wound to either a weapon of x2 Toughness (Demolisher Cannon, for example) or a CC weapon which allows no armour save. He may use it on himself, and does not require the presence of a second Lord with Res Orb in order to do so.
It is important to remember that if the Lord is killed, the Res Orb is no longer available for use by other Necrons who may have required its services. The WBB rolls should in this situation always commence with that of the Necron Lord. If he stands up again, then the effects of the Orb are reinstated immediately. If he succumbs, then all other Necrons who would have required the services of the Res Orb are also removed, as there is no way for them to be able to perform a WBB roll since they needed the Orb's augmenting powers in order to do so.
"Tau Commandment #226: Participants who use Velocity Trackers in the Tau Clay Pigeon Tournament will be disqualified"