Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
So I was playing with my friend today and we ran into a few questions we couldn't answer.
First, I had a Weirdboy attached to a squad of boyz and got the roll for 'ere we go. Now my friend says that they shouldn't get to move in the next turn since normally deep strike counts as your movement for that turn, but since weridboy powers happen in the shooting phase I had already moved. Is this true? I said screw it and just moved next turn anyway.
Next, if I declare a Waaagh! and then disembark from a vehicle can I still run and/or assault in the respective phases?
Thanks in advance!
Last edited by mazik765; September 22nd, 2010 at 13:54.
I'm a new player here as well (played about 10 games or so) and recently used a weirdboy myself.
The weirdboy's er we go power allows a deep strike at the "beginning" of the shooting phase.
After the deep strike occurs, the mob can still shoot (or run), but can not assault. During your next turn, movement, shooting, and assault phases are normal. Keep in mind though, you MUST roll for the weirdboy's power at the beginning of the shooting phase, whether you want to or not! It is completely possible that the weirdboy teleports the unit all over the map repeatedly..thus the randomness of orks! (and fun).
Keep in mind, a weird boy can actually deep strike out of close combat! (One of the disadvantages is that you may NOT want to deep strike out of combat, but you have to!)
As for vehicle disembarking....
You move (or don't move the vehicle). You disembark, if the vehicle didn't move, you can move your troops. Otherwise, they'll be disembarking at the end of the movement phase.
You'll now be in the shooting phase. There is a few ways of declaring a waaagh.
You can declare it now, and roll your d6, or you can declare it at the end of the shooting phase (after running your units). Remember any rolls of 1 take a wound (you can save).
Keep in mind you can only ASSAULT if the vehicle was open topped. This is where most SM players seem to get pissed about...all their stuff is ard cased, so they can't do this... And if they don't know better, they aren't expected a battlewagon to dump 20 orks out, which then waaaagh 6, and assault 6, completely obliterating their tactical squad.
Cool! Thank you very much for the help!
Little change to earlier statement. It looks like you HAVE to roll for the weirdboy power, but don't have to use it that turn. You have to roll, because of the 1's being ead bangers.
The power is set for that turn, whether you use it or not. You re-roll (after perils of warp test) in each shooting phase, which resets the power.
You have to take the eadbanger roll.
There seems to be some debate over whether you MUST use the power you roll, regardless of whether or not you want to or not. I'm hoping someone else chimes in on the forum. I did some searches, and I've found just as many arguments for having to use the power, as having the choice to use the power.
when i read the codex i read it as you had to move it . I got here we go 3 times in one game when i used my wierdboy lol
Tau: 6K - W17-D3-L4, Orks: 4K - W9-D0-L2, SM: 7K - W7-D3-L4,CSM: 4K W5-D1-L1, Nids: 3.2K W3-D0-L2
Apoc games (mixture of armies used): W5-D0-L1
From the ork codex, p. 37:
"Weirdboys cannot control their psychic powers. At the beginning of each Ork shooting phase, a Weirdboy must roll on the following table to find out which psychic power he must use that turn."
Must roll, must use.
Also, under the 'Ere We Go section:
"This power must be used even if enemy models are in base contact; if so the enemy models stay in place."
If you think about it, of course 'eadbanger would have to be compulsory.
As far as the deep strike rules go, the orks can't assault that turn, but they CAN run or shoot depending on your preference. (Remember that they'll be clumped up quite tightly from the deep strike, so if your opponent has templates, he's gonna have a field day if you don't run.) There's absolutely nothing that mentions not being able to move in the next movement phase, just that you can't move any further in the initial movement phase if you deep strike at the beginning of a turn.
Thanks a ton for the clarification AvatarADV!
If you deepstrike using 'ere we go and then declare a Waaagh!, can you run AND assault after successfully deepstriking?