Welcome to Librarium Online!
Like pretty much every other dark eldar general, I use a shadow field on my archon. But ive been thinking lately about an issue thats never come up for me yet, but I expect will (unless its changed in the new dex how it works)
It fails if you roll a failed save, and you lose it from then on. Fair enough, but how does this work for mass saves. For example, if I take 5 bolt gun wounds, I usually just roll 5 dice at the same time. If I get a 1, does that mean the rest of them are failed. Or should I be rolling the saves 1 at a time.
Because of the way most of the game works, like whole units shoot at once etc, I feels that I should do all the saves at once, if I fail a save, then that means the shadow field has failed from anymore wounds after that group of saves. So when the next unit fires at the archon or whatever.
How do other people interpret the rule?
I would keep the saves you just made. Its the next group that he wouldn't have a shield for.
Of course, soon the shadow field will be a thing of the past! Soon we will have something new for people to whine about!
If your archon is shot by a unit and takes 5 wounds you will roll them all togeather for the shadowfield. So roll all 5 dice at once, if you get a 1 and four 2's you will pass four saves.
If he takes 5 wounds at the save time, roll the saves at the same time.
The Emperor Protects
IG Best Gen 1st overall of 10 DE 4th overall of 6
Eldar 3rd Overall/Best General of 26--2nd Overall/Best General of 7--1st Overall/Best General of 11
Thats how ive been doing it, so thats good to hear Cheers dudes!