Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I'm not a tau player and my friend new to tau is saying that the devilfish can take up a troops slot; I disagree because I think it is a dedicated transport option only but unlike the eldar codex the devilfish is listed in the same way as the other units with the exception of having "Transport:" in the title.
who is right?
You are right. The Devilfish is a dedicated transport for the Tau. If you look at other codex's for reference, (esp. the older ones, like Black Templar) their dedicated transports are listed under the heading "Transport Vehicles". The Devilfish is listed as "Transport: Devilfish Troop Carrier" . The colon after the word transport shows that "Transport" is not part of the name, but describes its function. It is a transport vehicle(now dedicated transport) for Fire warriors and Pathfinders.
Here's one; can you carry kroot in it(granted they number no more than 12models)?
Support you right to play video games, its for the greater good...
Hmmm.... Thats a good question. If the kroot can ride in DFs, that opens many new avenues of gameplay. However, I think not. If you look at the Tau Codex, The FWs have the option to be mounted in a DF. It doesn't say that for the kroot. I may be totally wrong, but I take that as saying that, while FWs can hitch a ride, kroot can't. This is just my opinion, I could be totally wrong. It probably would be good to e-mail Games Workshop about that.
Unless an Infantry unit specifically says it may not be transported in a vehicle (e.g., arco-flagellants, assassins), or it has some other rule which generally prohibits it from riding in vehicles (e.g., Jump Infantry, Infantry models in Terminator armour are forbidden from riding in Rhinos), then there are no rules whatsoever preventing just about any Infantry unit from riding in any vehicle it wants to.
As noted, only the unit for which a Dedicated Transport was purchased may begin the game embarked inside that Dedicated Transport. But outside of that, there is nothing at all stopping Kroot from taking a ride in a Devilfish. (I would question why you would ever want to do that -- Kroot serve other very important purposes that rely on them being on the table -- but that's a topic for a different discussion.)
This is basic 40K rules at work here. Read the manual.
ninjabackhand: point and click, again, really? even after i give you an military term "shock tactic" you still call it point and click.
RIP Warhammer 40,000: 21 Sep 1998 - 24 May 2014
If there is nothing stopping the kroot from riding in a DF so long as they don't start the game in it, I can come up with some pretty interesting tactics for that. I can just see the look on the face of just about any opponent as you charge them with a DF, and then kroot unload and assault! it brings up some amazing strategic opportunities!
thanks for the response folks, i pretty much knew i was right but wanted some concensus on the topic so it's closed for good. the only thing that really made me unsure is that in the eldar codex wave serpents are specifically written in as dedicated transports (plus my friend is very zealous).