Questions for GW - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 22
  1. #1
    Member Blood Seriph's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Age
    32
    Posts
    247
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    11 (x1)

    Questions for GW

    Ok I've seen quite a few debate's where most of us are divided on certain issues, Issues I believe need to be resolved.

    I emailed GW yesterday and got an email back (within 24hours too!) stating that I needed to call them to be able to get some definite answer's that wouldn't be confusing or misinterpreted. The questions I have pertain to the debates on devilfish transporting and the carbines special pinning issue.

    But before I do this I wanted to see if there were any additional questions that people needed answer's on that I hadn't seen thus far or things that may not have a clear answer. I will call them with 12-36hours from the time of this posting.

    I would appreciate actual questions, not a lot of BS questions or general slander concerning this post or anything contained within.

    Thank you for your help, input, and assistance.

    http://www.videogamevoters.org/
    Support you right to play video games, its for the greater good...

  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    94
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    How about: Is O'Shovah legal to use as the 1+ HQ in a tournament?
    Current Armies: Tau, Dark Angels, Wood Elves, Bretonnians
    Side Projects: Imperial Guard, Dark Eldar, High Elves, The Empire

  4. #3
    Member Blood Seriph's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Age
    32
    Posts
    247
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    11 (x1)

    I think that would depend on the tournament rules, otherwise the rule is 1500pt games and larger, and he can be your 1 HQ for the game.

    But you do bring up the O'shovah limitations question, so thats on the list now.
    http://www.videogamevoters.org/
    Support you right to play video games, its for the greater good...

  5. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    100
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    9 (x1)

    I suspect someone at least will want a definitive answer to the "multi-tracker to fire twin linked weapon" debate? To my knowledge, that was never resolved, but I'll gladly delete this comment if it has
    Battlecries: Sorbr'and Tau force: For the Greater Good!
    Ordo Corvus Witch Hunters: Only in our flames will the heretic find peace!

  6. #5
    Senior Member Taubeast's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Behind you.
    Posts
    404
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    38 (x1)

    How about; does an ethereals honour guard count as scoring?
    Tau Empire: We never stop hiding from you

  7. #6
    Senior Member starfire's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    blackbird leys, oxford
    Age
    29
    Posts
    265
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    16 (x1)

    Here's a riddler for ya. If you buy a dedicated transport (Devilfish) for a unit of Firewarriors, do the drones when disembarked count as a troop and therefore able to claim objectives?

  8. #7
    I am a free man! number6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    The Village
    Posts
    4,941
    Mentioned
    18 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    ReputationReputation
    786 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by starfire View Post
    Here's a riddler for ya. If you buy a dedicated transport (Devilfish) for a unit of Firewarriors, do the drones when disembarked count as a troop and therefore able to claim objectives?
    No, the codex clearly states that they count as a normal gun drone squadron. Which means they're Fast Attack.
    ninjabackhand: point and click, again, really? even after i give you an military term "shock tactic" you still call it point and click.
    RIP Warhammer 40,000: 21 Sep 1998 - 24 May 2014

  9. #8
    Member Blood Seriph's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Age
    32
    Posts
    247
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    11 (x1)

    Ok I just got off the phone with GW.

    Here are the questions and their answers. Bare in mind these are not 100% completely official and only the interpretations of an official GW hobbyist (personally that's fine with me.)

    Q.) Farsight; is he an HQ choice option?
    A.) Yes, you do not have to have an additional HQ as he counts as one.

    Q.) Farsight army limitations, what does the 0-1 mean?
    A.) You are limited to 1 FoS choice of all the following unit options; Stealth armour, pathfinder's, hammerhead, broadsides, sky ray's, and piranha's.

    Q.) Are twinlinked weapons 1 weapon system?
    A.) Yes

    Q.) Can you fire a twinlinked weapon and a normal weapon using a multi tracker?
    A.) Yes

    Q.) When does a unit suffer a wound?
    A.) This only happens after a FAILED SAVING THROW.

    Q.) Does the pulse carbine have a special version of pinning?
    A.) No, why they restated the rules for pinning is unknown.

    Q.) Ethereal w/honour guard, are they a scoring unit?
    A.) No, they are a retinue existing outside standard troop organization and training.

    Q.) Can an Ethereal and honour guard have or use a devilfish transport?
    A.) Yes

    Q.) Devilfish, can it be taken as a troop choice?
    A.) No

    Q.) Devilfish, is it a scoring unit?
    A.) No, Fire Warrior's in a devilfish is though.

    Q.) Whom can be in a devilfish?
    A.) Only pathfinder's and firewarriors can select or start inside a devilfish, however once a game starts (the start of turn 1's move phase) ANY friendly non jump infantry unit may board the devilfish subject to it's holding size (12models or less).
    The following can use a devilfish once the game starts;
    *Ethereal
    *Fire Warriors
    *Kroot
    *Pathfinder's
    *Sniper Drone Teams

    Q.) Can you take multiple units in the same devilfish?
    A.) No, however an special character (aun'va, ethereal) joined to another unit, may as long as the unit is equal to or fewer than 12 models.

    Those are the questions asked and answered, if you still don't agree with them call them yourself.

    I hope this helps.
    Last edited by Blood Seriph; October 7th, 2010 at 05:11.
    http://www.videogamevoters.org/
    Support you right to play video games, its for the greater good...

  10. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    100
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    9 (x1)

    Does this overwrite the BRB? Page 66, "a transport may carry a single infantry unit..." (Underlining mine)

    Does this mean we have special transports? Sweet...

    EDIT: Seriph, I realise you said that we should contact ourselves if we disagree, but I just wanted to get the community's view on this... I hope you understand!
    Last edited by Shas'o_Longshot; October 6th, 2010 at 23:33.
    Battlecries: Sorbr'and Tau force: For the Greater Good!
    Ordo Corvus Witch Hunters: Only in our flames will the heretic find peace!

  11. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Age
    36
    Posts
    71
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    Yeah ive also discussed the multiple units in transports with most players i know and all are adamant that the rule is wrong, vehicles are only allowed to carry one unit.

    Can we get more oppinions on this as it will change things considerably.

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts