Welcome to Librarium Online!
since some of you have already seen or have used the new codex i was wondering if this old trick will still work (as it was one of my favorites...)
here we are then- is the old combo of an Archon with a attending squad/bodyguard of incubi all mounted in a raider still a viable choice? i just want to hear your opinions as i am starting DE AGAIN after getting rid of them, a classic mistake of mine.
thanks in advance!
It is, but with the removal of drugs, the incubi squad itself doesn't really need the extra support.....
Drazher will work well as a HQ with them.
actually if you used to run this then you will be very pleased to hear that now it is still viable!... very much so. Make sure you purchase the grenade launcehr for the archon, as that will give the incubi much needed grenades. Of course, now when the incubi annihilate a squad they get buffed! Whats not to like? I think that with FNP they can actually handle an ork horde. Huzzah!
I ran just 3-4 incubi with an archon + warriors as wounds....
But, there could be benefit with the archon, just take either the clone/shadow (i'd go for clone personally) and get him into combat with the powerfist in a marine squad, hopefully saving the incubi from the death, and then soon after, a 3+ save + 4+ FNP should make them very survivable.
Thanks for the replies, indeed imagine what people would think if they managed to get two points- fnp plus furious charge would make them a scary unit albeit squishy....
but at least i am not barking up the wrong tree though, i seem to remember that they now have the fleet rule- every little helps to get them into combat...
A valid strat would to be to start a haemy in their raider as well, as he comes with a pain point. What this would mean, is if you think you need fleet to get to someone, leave the haemy in the raider, and the incubi can take the point with them, if they dnt need to fleet to get in range, take the haemy with you for some extra grunt, (and wound taking).
Actually, the most important difference is that Incubi are no longer a retinue and no longer a mixed unit with Warriors. This means the Archon is targetable in CC and the Incubi do not have meatshields. FNP is somewhat equal in cost and effect except that you are giving up an additional kill point if the squad goes down.
--•-My 40K projects-•--