Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
In my local gaming group there is much resistance to allow a MC like the hive tyrant to gain a cover save because his guard is in cover and thus 50% of the unit is. Rather then fight my friends on this issue i've relented. So my question is if it is still worth it to take a tyrant guard if he has no chance to grant the tyrant cover. Do you take regen at half the price, or nothing at all?
If your gaming group's going to change the rules just because they don't like it you might as well claim all your MCs have 3+ invul saves, or something equally retarded.
On a more serious and less grumpy note: I'd say there's no point in grabbing any of them (Guards or Regen, that is). Just use flyrants and be as dull as they're forcing you to be.
Regen will never do as good a job as a tyrant guard. A tyrant guard adds 2 wounds guaranteed and gives you more attacks, never mind the cover. Regen you should consider yourself lucky if you get one per game. So even if you cant get cover, its probably worth it just for the extra wounds.
Rather than relent on the issue, why not just show your group the rules and that your right? I mean its a bit unfair that theyre denying you a perfectly usable rule.
Your friendly neighbourhood gargantuan creature
badxample, your opponents are WRONG WRONG WRONG! The issue is stated quite clearly, in no uncertain terms, on p. 22 of the BRB.Do not give in. Your opponents are being jerks. Show them this rule, and then demand that they find the any rule that exempts the Tyranids from its benefit.If half or more of the models in the target unit are in cover, then the entire unit is deemed to be in cover and all of its models may take cover saves.
ninjabackhand: point and click, again, really? even after i give you an military term "shock tactic" you still call it point and click.
RIP Warhammer 40,000: 21 Sep 1998 - 24 May 2014
The logic in their minds is infallible, they don't think a thing with such height can quickly duck behind a cover just because something smaller is covered, mind you they are just concentrating on a static height. Im sure you will notice when they field their normal troops in a line and half of the group is covered they will make it so in their minds that they all just pack in behind the cover for that moment even though the width of that whole unit may be twice the size of the height of a tyrant. I think what is conflicting here is not their interpretation of the rules but their "logical" understanding of the situation (how can something so big hide behind cover) you have to remind them it is a static representation, that a tyrant would duck below fire, would jump behind cover if it deemed necessary, just because there is a hive mind doesn't make tyranids shambling zombies. In any case number6 is right the rules state it clearly and they have to abide by them just as much as you do.
also in the games i have played, guard are far more useful for what heirodule said, but also because how imposing it looks, remember your facing your opposing armies commander as much as you are his army, all those shots he uses on your big tough tyrant and guards are not used on your squishy troops that need time to get into range or cc. I remember i was fighting a friend of mine who used an orc horde army and i spored a doom of malanti on his ass and took out a fair chunk of his troops (god bless spirit leech) i made sure the next match i fought against him i spored in three zoan's alongside doom and i heard him groan as he saw them thinking they were just as deadly as the doom and he wasted much fire on their invulnerable saves all the while my troops going unabused towards his lines ...
anyways hope you resolve the issue
Thing thing is that they aren't shooting at a tyrant. They're shooting at a unit that has a tyrant in it. Those wounds can (and probably will) go on the other members of that unit.
Oroto ego sum
yes they are struggling with the logic in their mind which does not coincide with the rules. They see only the Mc rules, and it didn't help that my local gw rep agrees with them. So ill let it slide, though any wounds allocated to the guard will Definately get cover saves. Thanks for the advice all.