Welcome to Librarium Online!
If harlequins with a shadowseer (and therefore veil of tears) are in a transport, does that mean it can't be targeted by anything outside of 24"? With nightshields this would be 18".
Half tempting to put 9 of them in vect's dais, although that would run at 632pts with just the shadowseer upgrade on them haha... it would however mean an AV13 ravager-equivalent that can only be shot by units within a random, and low, distance!
Uber-unit aside, does the veil of tears work when in a transport? I can't see why not.
I'm near positive that the Veil of Tear works when when shooting at a unit that the Shadowseer if part of. When they board a transport they don't "join the unit" of the raider. If they did "join the unit" then they could be shot just the same as the raider could. So no, it would not apply.
This is why you'll often see lists with harlies on foot - they don't need a ride (they can enarly keep up) and they lose the benefits of the shadowseer. While you could take a unit minus shadowseer to save cost, it is probably not a smart move.
Also, even if VoT did apply to the transport the unit was inside, Nightshields only affect the range of a unit's weapons. Nightshields have no impact on determining range for Night Fighting/VoT, assault, or anything else.
Quite apart from the fact that the rules don't line up on this one, you do realise that Harlequins cannot take a transport other than the Dias and that the Dias cannot be upgraded with a night shield because it has no upgrade options in the codex...
The art of Eldar: Paint clean, play dirty!
I don't see any Portuguese Surnames as options in the codex, but Norman's point does definitely apply to the Dais.
Plus - by RaW - no unit can ever deploy in the dais as the rules only cover IC's joining units in their dedicated transport, not units joining an IC's transport (to be fair only 2 such scenarios exist in the game, the dais and a commissar lord's chimera).
Colorado Springs, Colorado
http://www.gamesandhobbies.com/ New Location Open on the north end!
Ok, so the original idea was off, I clearly didn't read the harlequin entry properly, and should have guessed it wouldn't work (otherwise craftworld players would have had un-killable falcons for the last few years!).
However, the bit of rules text Torden has highlighted raises a question:
"The Dais of Destruction must begin the game carrying nine models in addition to Vect himself. Other than this, it is treated exactly like a Raider." - DE codex p55
Does anyone think that last bit indicates that the Dais, as per a raider, can be given upgrades from the raider entry?
I'm not sure if i'd want to, it being so expensive as it is, but it made me wonder!
Shrike and his infiltration fall into the same pitfall - they are trying to do something the core rules do not allow without giving themselves an exception.
To cut the explanation short to see how an IC joining a unit in a transport works it will always mention IC's joining a unit's transport, not the reverse and the dais doesn't say otherwise - the stipulation that it must be filled when being deployed doesn't matter.