Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
hi all. just a quick questions regarding getting grot-riggers for the kans.
when i was playing with the Kans yesterday I tried out grot-riggers on the kans for the first time which I gave to all of them. when I got an immobilised result on the first Kan my mate informed me that because it was part of a squadron it could not use the grot-rigger I was given it - it was automatically destroyed. he then informed me that only the last kan in a squadron could use the riggers, and all the kans in the group would have to pay for the riggers for the last survivong Kan to use them.
is this a correct interpretation of the rules? if so, why would anyone in god's name pay for 3 grot-riggers in a Kan group when only the last Kan alive can use them?
any clarification on this point would be greatly appreciated!!!!
WOW really someone pulled that over you, slap them in the mouth next time. Thats the hole point of grot riggers is so that if one guy is stuck he can repair and they can get movin again. If some one tells you something that sound wrong ask them to show you where it says it, and nine out of ten times they will not be able to.
Actually his opponent is exactly right, have a look at the squadron rules. Vehicles in a sqaudron that get imobilized are instead, destroyed. HOWEVER you do not have to equip all of them with grot riggers, by rights you could just give one of them the upgrade, and pray it survives till last due to those allocating hits. Its incredibly unlikley to work however.
Your friendly neighbourhood gargantuan creature
Well thats what I get for not looking into what was being shown to me. So I guess its in the rule book and not the codex. I need to get a rule book. sorry for the mix up and I learned a few things today. Now I need to revise my strategy. I was wrong.
Precisely because of this, grot riggers on kans are not a good upgrade (unless you're running a kan solo?)
For the same reason, armor plates are also a worthless upgrade to a squadron of kan's.
The squadron rules automatically give them all armor plates.
Heirodule is correct, and yes, armor plates are also pointless because vehicle squadrons treat stunned results as shaken anyway.
Honestly, I wouldn't give killa kans any upgrade besides their gun (kmbs, rokkits, and grotzookas are best), because one of the things that makes them so great is the fact that they're cheap.
"Any job worth doing, is worth doing with a powerklaw."
Cheers. thanks for the replies everybody - yes grax, i have been learning that they aren't worth upgrading. the grotzooka however is worth every single point....
So do people field them with different weapons or all three with Grotzookas????
Just i've been told to think about making them different to play with wounds before they are roled on the vehical pen/glance table.
If you had different guns on all you could put (if you got hit with 2 penitrating and 2 glancing hits.) you could put the 2 pens on the same model and 1 glancing on each of the other two.
If you choose to have all the weapons the same could you put grot riggers on one to make it different to still allow you to play with wounds???
Tau: 6K - W17-D3-L4, Orks: 4K - W9-D0-L2, SM: 7K - W7-D3-L4,CSM: 4K W5-D1-L1, Nids: 3.2K W3-D0-L2
Apoc games (mixture of armies used): W5-D0-L1
Grotzooka's are great, except vs enemies with multi-wounds (like nid warriors). So make sure you setup the kan's for your particular opponent. In the case of the nid warriors, 1 rokkit = 1 dead warrior.
When allocating damage to a squadron, your opponent gets to choose, not you.