Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Quick question. If one's opponent attempts to assault a vehicle with torment grenade launchers and fails their morale check, do they fall back?
Why did they make it a morale check and not a leadership check then?
So that Fearless units auto pass it.
Brb pg 44 details the three normal cases for a morale test of which the effects of this weapon is not one. Thus this is a special case and we look to the codex rules that always override the brb if there is conflict - you could argue that this only applies to USR as per brb pg 74 but it is usually agreed that any codex rule supercedes the brb rules otherwise our previous codex would have been a bit more problematic. Codex pg 63 specifically tells us what happens if the test is failed so we go with that one, which does not mention falling back.
If the normal morale check failure was in place the attacker would fall back but people would ask whether it was the fact because that the unit attacked and was driven off as that could mean that the unit could attack first potentially destroying the unit. But then why would the unit fall back if the vehicle was destroyed meaning is it worth having the launchers?
I hope that this helps and did not come across as teaching you to suck eggs as I thought I'd explain for anyone else new to the game who might be reading this. It's my train of thoughts but feel free to have a different opinion.
"The nature of Mon Keigh was irrepressible!"
No offense taken, Sigelus. You gave a good answer.