KFF, really worth it? - Warhammer 40K Fantasy

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!

Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

KFF, really worth it?

Okay, I'm relatively new to Orks and 40K in general... but the Big Mek w/ KFF just seems like a waste of points to me. I must be wrong on this one, because everybody and their brother takes one in a competition list...

I'm not staring at my codex, so correct me if I'm wrong... but the KFF only gives the cover save for a six inch radius, right? So it barely covers the unit the Mek is attached to... and if you crowd them all together to take advantage of it then they are begging for a barrage attack or other template mayhem.

Plus, it is only a 5+ cover save, right? So you have a 33% chance rather than 16%? Not a huge difference considering I can get a 4+ armor save with 'Ard Boyz for a 4-point hike per model.

I have yet to play with one on the table, but for the points it seems a few extra green bodies to feed to the cannons would play better in the end?

I use a warboss with PK and twin linked shoota... thinking of another HQ choice and I will be picking up a wierdboy simply for the Orkish fun on the table. Still on the fence regarding the Mek and KFF.

Could I get some feedback as to how this is better utilized in your Ork armies?

(If it makes any difference I footslog it, no vehicles yet)

2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

ReputationReputation
    30 (x1)

The KFF gives a whole unit the cover save if -any- model from the unit is within six inches of the KFF.