Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Q.How many units in an army with Mad Dok Grotsnik can be upgraded to have cybork bodies? Are there any restrictions (apart from non-vehicle) or can it even be Gretchin or independent characters?A.Any number of units can be upgraded. This includes Gretchin (Super-Gretchin! Cool conversions, but a bit expensive at 8 pts per model!) and independent characters (except for unique characters), effectively giving them a 5 pt discount on the cybork body upgrade.
I have never really read into this, I guess cause I've always assumed the Dok could give it to everybody. But he can't!
Old Zog (No)
Snikrot ?Might have it
Zagstruk ?Pretty sure has it
Badrukk ?Might have it
The rest have it or can get it cheaper with the Dok.
Where are you getting the answer? It was my understanding that he only could offer the upgrade to one unit?
Mad doc offers it to the whole army! A painboy only offers it to one unit. Mad doc also confers FNP to any unit he joins. Of course his disadvantages are enormous and highly debated. It's almost impossible to play him, as he will always charge whatever enemy unit is closest, even out of LOS. (Thus making it simple to kite him around the board).
Of course there are dozens of pages on that topic, as well as arguing till you're blue in the face for both sides! He's a cool character regardless! Just imagine him in a group of 30 ard boyz....
Sean, it's in the Ork FAQ. Last page I think.
He can give the upgrade to any non-vehicle model in the army for 5 points a pop, except unique characters. The equipment of unique characters can never be altered, so no, Snikkrot and the like cannot be given cybork.
Where does it say that Snikrot is Unique? Cause that would mean that the kommandos unit with snikrot cannot take the unit upgrade.
Zagstruk has it already. But I also don't see where it classifies them as unique. maybe its in the rule book somewhere regarding named ICs.
I know you can't take more than one of each but was wondering about that Mad Dok upgrade situation.
He's a named character. You can't have more than one of the same named character in an army, otherwise you could use two Ghazghkulls, and 3 Snikkrots. Being a named character, he's also a unique character, and so you can't change his equipment.
It doesn't specifically say he's a unique character, but I think you're going to have trouble convincing anyone that there's more than one of any named character.
Well, Thraka's entry says Unique.