Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
If you give a necron lord a disruption field and a warscythe, and roll a double 6 for armour penetration do you get both a penetrating and 2 glancing hits?
D-Fields only give glancing hits if the attack did not penetrate naturally, it would have no additional effect.
There are three types of people in this world -- those who can count, and those who cannot.
Say you're testing AV14. Lord S5 + 2d6 (6 & 1) = 12 meaning you didn't PEN, however you did roll a 6 so it's a glance by auto? I don't even know if a lord can get a Dfield, never looked.
"There is only do, or do not. There is no try." - Yoda
A Disruption Field is used only in the Assault Phase, as is a Warscythe. Both have effects as "special weapons". P.42 BRB final paragraph of the right hand column tells us that we must choose between the special weapons as to which one's effects we will be using.
So to use Dark Trainer's example about attacking AV14:
First, you must decide whether to use the Disruption Field or the Warscythe. This will determine how many extra dice you roll in addition to the Lord's Str value.
If you use the DF, you only get to roll Str +1D6 for each attempt against the AV. You will therefore hope that some of them will come up as a 6, otherwise you have no hope of hurting AV14. If a 6 does occur, then you roll on the Vehicle Damage chart with the usual modifier applied for glancing hits.
If you use the Warscythe, then it's Str + 2D6 for each roll against the AV. This does make it slightly easier to cause damage against AV14, although you still require a minimum of 9 on 2D6. However, should you roll a 6 on either of these dice, you will NOT get an automatic glancing hit even though the Lord has a Disruption Field because you are using the Warscythe's rules and cannot use those of the Disruption Field at the same time.
Hope that wasn't too confusing. I've a bad headache and thinking hurts!
"Tau Commandment #226: Participants who use Velocity Trackers in the Tau Clay Pigeon Tournament will be disqualified"