Welcome to Librarium Online!
There was a massive argument on one of the other forums over zaap guns. As most of us know, they previous auto-hit in past editions, and in the current codex, it says nothing about auto hitting.
However in the new 5th edition rulebook, it states they autohit, and to see the codex for more information. Because of the whole codex trumps rulebook system, everyone thought that because the codex said nothing about autohitting, that you had to roll to hit.
I decided to take it upon myself and just shoot GW an email to see if they'd address the confusion between the codex, the gw faq, and the rulebook.
Here is my question, followed by Andrew's response, no editing other then my email address.
to US Customer Service <Custserv@games-workshop.com>
date Mon, Feb 7, 2011 at 4:18 PM
subject Re: Ork FAQ
hide details 4:18 PM (21 hours ago)
Wow thank you for taking the time to reply Andrew. I really appreciate it!
Do you have any info on my other quick question? The rulebook states that ork zaap guns do not need to roll to hit, but the codex mentions nothing of the sort. It just mentions that you roll 2d6 for strength. (page 51 ork codex)
Page 106 mini rulebook (from assault on black reach)
**=See Codex Orks for more details. Zzap guns do not roll to hit.
And as thanks for taking the time to respond, he's a very happy photo of a big mek shooting...thanks your way.
And the response.
From US Customer Service <Custserv@games-workshop.com>
date Tue, Feb 8, 2011 at 12:32 PM
subject RE: Ork FAQ
hide details 12:32 PM (1 hour ago)
The Zapp Guns do auto hit in 5th edition as it states that in the 5th edition rulebook. I hope that helps! Cheers.
Customer Service Specialist
6211 East Holmes Road
Memphis, TN 38141
Games Workshop Customer Service is open:
Monday through Friday 9:30 AM to 60 PM CST
Or visit us online at:
So there you have it. From the guy who writes white dwarf. Zaap guns autohit in 5th edition. Time to throw away them kannon's boyz and dust off the zaapz!
Last edited by greggles; February 8th, 2011 at 19:05. Reason: added question.
As awesome as this is, I still think I'll have a hard time convincing my opponents of it.
"Someone on a forum I frequent emailed GW and they said they auto-hit!"
"Did GW add it to the errata?"
"No... not yet"
"...Doesn't sound very official to me..."
"...I rolled a 3... ...missed..."
As i suggested to others. Email them yourself, then print out the email. It's coming from Andrew Hall...not exactly some random person at GW. He's responsible for pretty much all the white dwarf articles, and a huge amount of website content.
I am liking this. But need clarification... to make sure I understand.
I choose a target, I measure for range, I roll for STR and BOOM? Automatic hit?
If this is the case I'm getting two more zapp guns!
I asked Andrew again, but I'm pretty sure he's just going to reply "it autohit's" since probably typed up the errata and uploaded it in the first place.
I mean just look at the other entry for "zzap" in the codex. It auto hits, str 10, ap2. Sound familiar?
Sadly the codex doesn't indicate anything for the Zapp gun... one way or the other... only that Big Guns have BS 3
The "do not roll to hit" only appears in the rule book (my copy is the little one from AoBR too... does the big one say the same?) in the codex there is no such entry... on the big gunz page, in the army list or on the cheat sheet in back...
Maybe we should all email Andrew and ask him to update the eratta?
or MAYBE they are releasing new big gunz models this year and holding back updates until then.....?
Does someone have the email that was sent? It'd be cool if we could get it sent around so we could all have it on hand.