How to manage Hive Tyrants - Warhammer 40K Fantasy

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!

Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

How to manage Hive Tyrants

I am relatively new to warhammer 40k and my first army is necrons. I have been playing someone who fields 2x hive tyrants with a 2+ armor save. I am at a loss for what I can do that will work against two of these guys. With just one of them it seems I can tie them up with scarabs or in general lock them down, but two of them seems to be unmanageable...

Last time we played, tactics went in my favor and I was able to assault one hive tyrant with: the deceiver, 4x pariahs, destroyer mounted necron lord with warsycthe and wraith, and a tomb spyder with 1 scarab... And I still lost the combat.

I have gone through about 4 army lists ranging from 1500-2000pts, always against 2x hive tyrants and always unable to deal with them. Anyone know the best way to handle this? Any help is much appreciated.

2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements

Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

First off, the Deceiver alone should be able to whoop both of them. The Hive Tyrant's 2+ means nothing to the Deceiver, I think you might be forgetting that the C'Tans and Warsycthes ignore ARMOR & Invulnerable saves. You should be hitting on at least half your attacks and wounding on a 2+. Also the Decievers toughness should keep it from being hurt too often by the Tyrants.

I think what is going on here is either you and your opponent don't understand all the rules, or he knows them and is screwing you over.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)