Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I am new to Tau and 40k and i am putting my ary together but am confused about the kroot section of the codex....can you have a team of kroot hounds without kroot? and are they point scoring units?
No, You must have 10 kroot minumum 20 maximum, 0-10 hounds, and something like 0-3 kroot ox riders (don't quote me on the ox's I never use them). But in order to take any hounds at all you need 10 kroot first. Think of them like the dog handlers, there can never be more hounds than kroot (at least at first, after bullets start flying it's anybody's game). Also they can be point scoring units, if taken in a group with kroot. As an example you have 10 kroot, 10 hounds. All 10 kroot die, all 10 hounds remain, you still have a unit that is at half strength and since it is a troop unit, it can score.
Actually you *could* have 10 Kroot and 12 Hounds. The restriction about not being allowed to have more hounds than Kroot is a rule from "Codex Tau", not from "Codex Tau Empire".
Last edited by eiglepulper; March 27th, 2011 at 19:20.
"Tau Commandment #226: Participants who use Velocity Trackers in the Tau Clay Pigeon Tournament will be disqualified"
Oh. My bad. I actually thought the number of hounds was 0-10 not 0-12. My apologies.