Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Does anyone here use the Court of the Archon? I thought they had some potential until I realized that you had to take one of each type. This means that rather than a cohesive, goal oriented group, you have a mish-mash unit with models that do nothing other than take up space in the transport.
You would think after 30 views some might say something...
I am kinda disappointed with the whole squad on paper - I got no experience with them. I haven't really looked at them even to play test them, that is how much they bother me. I hope they have some fantastic (cheap) models for them cuz I can skip these guys entirely.
Maybe that is the trick, maybe we have try them out to really see if they work or not.
"On a hunch, I melted them down and inhaled the fumes and read the dark eldar codex again, AND FOUND A BUNCH OF NEW RULES HIDDEN BEHIND THE OTHER WORDS..." [Gardeth on modelling & interpreting the DE Codex]
I honestly think that the unit has merit but most of us are just going to pick 4 incubi to roll with the archon instead. I would run it, honest, but I need 3 incubi to squeeze Malys into the unit.
I had originally planned to add 3 sslyth to an archon with a lhamaean to enhance their shard carbines. Then I noticed that the lhamaean only enhances the archon's weaponry (meaning his splinter pistol), making her useless and that I had to take one of each. That killed my interest in the court. I was hoping someone here might have come up with a kickass way of using the court that I hadn't noticed.
The first thing which springs to my mind is the advantage of wound allocation. As the models have different stats, you get to keep your valued Archon alive while some of the court die.
Also, having to take one of each doesn't mean you can still create a dedicated court. Take one of each and max the ones you want out. Sure, you pay more points than you like, but then again, you're already taking the court anyway.
What the court does is create a multipurpose unit. If you're not sure about the army of your enemy, the mission and deployment type, taking the court could be a worthwhile investment. With emphasis on 'could be'. ;-)
Innovation suffuses this hobby like a tea bag in the boiling water of play.
The only advantage of taking the court vs putting the archon in another squad, that I can see, is that if you're trying to max out the number of raiders on the board, two archons with a court will let you drop two more raiders down.
Otherwise, you'll most likely want to just drop them in with incubi or grotesques or something.
No. And nobody will. Because it's pretty much garbage next to everything else.Originally Posted by God45