Welcome to Librarium Online!
Hello guys, I've been playing my friend who has Tyranids a few times recently and what hes been doing is taking a hive tyrant with two tyrant guards either side of it then hes got a squad of 16 gaunts and put four infront of the tyrant guard, two on each side so the hive tyrant and bodyguard get cover saves and put the rest behind the hive tyrant so the gaunt squad get a cover save, now personally I don't think gaunts are big enough to hide 50% of the tyrant guard, especially when the units shooting at them are on raised ground, so I want so know from others who use the same unit. Help greatly appreciated!
The guants dont need to hide 50% of the tyrant guard. That rule only applies to monstrous creatures, which the hive guards are not. Standard infantry only need to be coverd by the tinest fraction to recive a cover save. So the guants give cover to the hive guard. Then, since 66% of the unit is in cover, then unit recives a cover save. Its legit, and we've been using it for years
However whats suspect is the way hes wrapped the guants. He wont be able to legally move the unit, because he has to totally move one unit before moving the other. It sounds like hes done something a bit like this...
However, this would make movement a nightmare. If he tries to move the tyrant first, it cant go straight forward, it would have to go on an angle. If he tries to move the guants first... well that back row is going to have a hard time doing anything when they have to go round so very far. Force him to move each brood separatly, and remember he cant go through his own models.
Also you might wanna tell him it works SO much better with a small brood of 10 just infront of the tyrant. They dont need cover saves of their own.
Your friendly neighbourhood gargantuan creature
When the tyrant is joined by the tyrant guard he stops been a MC for targeting purpose and are infanty until all of the tyrant guard are killed as so the rules of targeting infanty ie shooting through units freind or foe grant a 4+ cover apply also the unit can go to ground as it no longer counts as a MC (dont tell him this but once you buy one tyrant guard you can stick a prime in with the unit also and make use of those twin bone sword that you can't get for a tyrant you can take adavantge of his cheap regeneration and is only 100pts with 3wounds, considering you are paying 30p per sheild wound on the tyrant guard this is a much more points econical at small games as you gain more attacks on twin bone swords and regen and a ranged attack for just 10pts difference ) it sucks is your not nids but they are 60pts each and only have a 3+ save, tyrants would be too easy to kill if this was not the case they only have 4W and would fall to a devi squad in one turn eg space pups can have 5 missle launcher in a long fang unit for just 140pts this just would not be fair, you pay a high amount for the protection of tyrant guard and this is the fairest way.
best way to take them down if they advance under cover is weight of fire S5+ multi shot work best and the tyrant will fall to weight of number of forced saves easy peasy.
what army do you run/size game do you play at?
Also it has been FAQ'd that the front squad can never recive a cover save from snaking around other units they themseves are covering the only way for the front unit to gain cover is to be in it, tell him to stop cheating.
What's the difference, you ask? Let's say you have a tyrant and 1 guard. If a couple of gaunts were in front of the guard only, then the unit will get cover as the gaunts obscure the guard and that is 50% of the unit. However, if the gaunts were in front of the tyrant only, then the unit will not get cover. That is because the tyrant is still a MC and needs to be 50% obscured. The gaunts do not obscure enough of the tyrant so the whole unit is considered not in cover.
And technically, the hive tyrant cannot go to ground, but the tyrant guard can. Thus, only the tyrant guard is getting stealth if he goes to ground. However, the BRB FAQ's state that if only 1 member in the unit has stealth, then the whole unit gets it. Again the difference here is that when the guard goes-to-ground and he is obscured, then 3+ cover for the entire unit. But if he g-t-g and is not obscured (i.e. there are a couple of gaunts in front of the tyrant only), the unit only gets a 6+ cover.
Record: Win - Loss - Draw: Hive Fleet Pandora (New) 32-6-6 Space Wolf 7th Co. 52-11-6
Blood Angels 12-4-2 Daemonhunters 20-8-3
Imperial Guards 12-5-2 Daemons 8-3-2