Welcome to Librarium Online!
I'm new here, so I apologize if these questions have been asked before. I'm still learning how to use the search function here to find what I need, but if anyone can answer the following questions or point me to the right thread, that would be great! All rules are 4th Ed WH40k.
1. Necron Lord: If I join a Necron lord with a troop of 10 Warriors, I know that by the 4th Ed rules, they cannot be targeted individually, and when shooting use their own stats. But if they are being shot at or have a blast weapon shot at them, do they use the "Majority" rule in terms of toughness or do the opponents have to roll separately for the Lord since its toughness is 5 instead of 4 like the warriors? The 4th ed book doesn't really say either way, and our friends don't really know how we would resolve the dice rolling if the Necron lord gets its own stats when being shot at with his unit.
2. There have been arguments with my friends on whether I need "permission" to use C'Tan as my HQ. On the 4th Ed book, it says, "In some cases... special characters need player permissions to be used." He interprets that as "unless a codex specifically says you don't need permission, all special characters need permission to be used". I interpret it as, "unless a codex says that special character needs permission to be used, it doesn't need permission." I mean, why say "in some cases" in the rules if all special characters need permission? I am also reading the Necrons FAQ on GamesWorkshop website, but it says nothing about the C'tan not needing permission. My friend is extremely insistent (we almost had a fight) that nowhere in any codices does it say a special character requires permission to be played, and in his Tyrannid codex it says specifically that he doesn't need permission to play 'Nid special characters, so by that logic, if a codex doesn't say anything, then that special character must need permission. If anyone can point to somewhere in the 4th Ed rules or any codex that says concretely "Special characters can be used unless specifically stated that they need permission", that would give me good "ammo" to counter his argument. Right now he's not letting me use my C'tan because of the interpretation of the rules. Any help on the clarification on this rule would be great!
3. Using Tomb Spiders: If my unit of 3 destroyers get demolished, and those are the only 3 I have, then the tomb spider won't be able to revive them because there are no similar units on the battlefield, is that correct? If that's the case, Tomb Spiders are only useful if I have more than 1 unit of any type on the battle field. Am I interpreting this correctly?
4. Blast Templates: This might belong to the "Battle Reports" section, but I just want to say that my friend's Tyranid Zoanthorpes took out my 10 Necron Warriors and 1 lord unit with a blast template because they deep striked onto the field (using the veil), the blast template covers the lord and the 6 warriors in the first concentric ring around him, and two Zoanthorpes shot at them. That gave 14 potential wounds. He rolled *13* out of 14 wounds (probability 1/500 or so) and killed the entire unit (even the ones not under blast template)... sigh...
the Blast rules on the 4th ed book says that a player being blasted can take wounds out of any individual in the unit, even if it's not under the blast template. This is to prevent people using blast templates as sniper weapons against characters (paraphrased). By this logic, if my friend can cover 7 units (which I checked, 7 warrior and Necron lord bases fit perfectly under a blast template), roll to hit twice, that means he can roll 14 dice to wound. He rolled 13 wounds, and I have 10 warriors and a Lord (13 total wounds), not only does the 7 figures under the blast template get killed, the four that are outside also get killed. He said that only if his blast weapon range reaches part of the army can I spare the armies not under the template. Can anyone refute this logic or this rule in the 4th ed book? (btw, the 'Nid Warp Blast is AP2, so no saves.. )
5. I need some inspiration on how to paint my Necrons. Anyone know of a good gallery sites with lots of different ways to paint Necrons? I'm a super newbie at this and have no artistic skills, but I want to do something different from just spraying it boltgun metal and painting highlights =P
Let's see if I can help here.
1:If your unit is being shot at with a blast weapon then you do not have to take casualties fron under the template, meaning the lord won't be harmed unless the models hit plus the lord are the only ones in the unit.
2:Codices will tell you when you need permission to use the character, not when you don't. The c'tan does not need opponent permission.
3:You are correct.
4:you resolve blast weapons on a shot by shot basis now. Meaning you resolve the hit, wound and saves (if any) for one weapon before going to the other. In this case you would have resolved the first warp blast against the unit (most likely killing a few but not necessicarily the lord since you can take units outside the blast) then gone onto the next, minus the downed models from the first warp blast.
The enemies of the Emperor fear many things. They fear discovery, defeat, despair and death. Yet there is one thing they fear above all others. They fear the wrath of the Space Marines!
Aight, excellent questions. Here's how I see it:
1) As Marius said, you don't have to take away models that were under the template, you can opt to take away from any part of the squad. However, since the Lord is part of the squad, you must use the squads majority toughness to resolve any casualties that the template may cause. Thus, if he was joined with a squad of 10 warriors, you should use the Warriors T to resolve any casualties, but you may remove models from any part of the squad, not just those under the template.
2) One's Codex only specifies if it is REQUIRED to ask the other player if you may use a special character. If no such indication is present in the codex, then you do not have to ask. So for, C'tan, you can take them whenever you like.
3) Indeed. Which is why all my lists have at 2 squads of all the important stuff, such as destroyers and heavy destroyers
4) What Marius said. Shot-by-shot basis. That means he's gotta fire one Warp Blast, resolve that completely, then fire the other and resolve that one completely; you don't double anything up.
5) Fraid I can't help ya there. However! Many people prefer a silver-metallic paint theme for their army (it seems standard for many Necron armies). I myself prefer a gold-rusty paint scheme :o Heh, although that isn't much in the way of advice, that's all I can offer up on this point. Good luck dude.
Thank you guys so much for the answers! It clarifies quite a few things!
Is there a place in the 4th Ed Rulebook that says "Codexes will specify if you need permission to use the special characters?" My friend refuses to interpret it that way... he still says since the Tyrannid codex says specifically that he doesn't need permission to use his special characters, that MUST mean all the other codexes that don't say it will require permission... I really need some strong evidence or wording somewhere to resolve this....
The necron 4.0 FAQ I believe specifically mentions that you do NOT have to have permission with a C'tan. I know the 3rd edition one did.
Some Answers from GW (I called them as they don't answer questions on email anymore)
1. The Necron Lord's Res Orb works ALL THE WAY until the Lord fails his WBB and is removed from the board. This means, roll the Lord's WBB first. If he succeeds, then everyone else within 6" gets a roll. If not, remove everyone.
2. You do NOT need persmission to use C'Tan unless your codex specifically states that.