Welcome to Librarium Online!
While browsing through my Codex pages I noticed something weird about Warp Spiders. The Exarch's ability "Suprise Assault" states that the unit with this ability can deep strike,right?
Well in the profile of the unit Warp Spiders are classified as Jump Infantry and the Rulebook states (page 52) that Jump Infantry models have the DS special rule.
So do they actually need the Exrach's ability to DS or not?
Last edited by MrRe-roll; May 29th, 2011 at 16:53.
They don't need it to Deep Strike in normal missions, no. The Power states that it allows them to Deep Strike in missions that don't allow it, which is pretty rare. It's a pretty useless power. They can deep strike in normal circumstances like any other unit that can.
This is a relic from 4th edition when the rules for jump infantry didn't let them all Deep Strike per default. Now in 5th it is pretty much useless.
Now that's something I didn't know.
"Dreadknight Armour: ~ They can always start the game in reserve and arrive using the Deep Strike rules, even if is not part of the mission being played." (Codex: Grey Knights p. 34)
I believe this codex is being made with 6E in mind and restrictions on Deep Strike may change in the future, especially with the amount of deep striking armies we were getting recently. Just my 2c.
Really though by the time 6th rolls around, I'd hope the Eldar would have a new Codex, if not soon after.