Question about KFF - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Senior Member TheNightbringer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Age
    25
    Posts
    509
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    13 (x2)

    Question about KFF

    KFF gives 5+ cover save to all friendly units within 6'' of the Mek. Does this apply to vehicles as well? The codex states "vehicles within 6'' are treated as being obscured targets". The rulebook (page 62) states "If a special rule or apiece of wargear confers to a vehicle the ability of being obscured [...], this is a 4+ cover save, unless specified otherwise in the codex."
    Does KFF give a 5+ cover save or a 4+ cover save to a vehicle that is 6'' within the Big Mek?

    Last edited by TheNightbringer; June 6th, 2011 at 15:21.

  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Night's whipser The Silent One's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    England
    Age
    23
    Posts
    1,719
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    421 (x8)

    The codex states otherwise cause it doesn't say "gives all vehicles with 6" a 5+ cover save", it says all vehicles within 6" are treated as being obscured targets" like you said.

  4. #3
    Senior Member TheNightbringer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Age
    25
    Posts
    509
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    13 (x2)

    Thank you for NOT answering the question.
    Can somebody else give me the answer clearly?

  5. #4
    LO Zealot Guthbrand's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Portland, Oregon
    Age
    31
    Posts
    1,043
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    63 (x3)

    You answered your own question. The codex does not specify how potent the save is that the KFF provides to vehicles, it only says that "they are treated as being obscured." So you refer to the page you yourself quoted from the BRB. I don't see how this can get any more clear. However, if you insist on providing your vehicles a 5+ save I'm sure your opponent's wont mind.

  6. #5
    LO Zealot greggles's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    1,036
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    192 (x4)

    4+ to any vehicle within bubble range. 5+ to any unit, of which a single member is within the bubble range.

    Keep in mind that the vehicle MUST be in the bubble range. If you have 3 killa kan's in a squadron, and only one of the killa kan's is in the bubble range, then that is the ONLY killa kan which gets a 4+ save. And upon assigning pen/glance rolls, this must be taken into account.

  7. #6
    Senior Member TheNightbringer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Age
    25
    Posts
    509
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    13 (x2)

    Thank you, greggles.

  8. #7
    LO Zealot Rafici's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Age
    30
    Posts
    1,365
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    91 (x3)

    Quote Originally Posted by greggles View Post
    4+ to any vehicle within bubble range. 5+ to any unit, of which a single member is within the bubble range.

    Keep in mind that the vehicle MUST be in the bubble range. If you have 3 killa kan's in a squadron, and only one of the killa kan's is in the bubble range, then that is the ONLY killa kan which gets a 4+ save. And upon assigning pen/glance rolls, this must be taken into account.
    Really - I think there are a lot of people who dont play it that way
    Tau: 6K - W17-D3-L4, Orks: 4K - W9-D0-L2, SM: 7K - W7-D3-L4,CSM: 4K W5-D1-L1, Nids: 3.2K W3-D0-L2
    Apoc games (mixture of armies used): W5-D0-L1

  9. #8
    LO Zealot greggles's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    1,036
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    192 (x4)

    Yup. It's played that way because the rules for vehicles/walkers is completely different then the rules for the infantry units.

    4+ For any vehicle within bubble range, does not confer to the entire squadron. (Any member of the squadron outside the bubble does not get the 4+). This is why you see dual KFF's in kan wall lists, so they can get full coverage, and take the 2 deff dreads.

    5+ for any squads that have a single member within bubble range.

  10. #9
    Night's whipser The Silent One's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    England
    Age
    23
    Posts
    1,719
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    421 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by TheNightbringer View Post
    Thank you for NOT answering the question.
    Can somebody else give me the answer clearly?
    I answered your question pefectly fine, theres no need to be rude, a simple "i'm sorry but could you explain it better?" would suffice, its not hard to be polite....

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts