Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Been using the Huskblade/soul-trap combo for a while now, and have been impressed with the results, but a couple situations have come up that I'm not entirely certain how to resolve.
1) If you roll +1 strength on your combat drugs, would the first IC/MC you kill raise your strength to 7 or 8? Conventional wisdom suggests 7 to me, but the fact that the 2nd IC/MC that you kill "doubles" your strength from 6 to 10 (rather than doubling your base strength of 3 again to give you 9) seems to suggest that the extra strength from the soul trap is after other modifiers, which would suggest 8.
2) If an IC in close combat with the archon flees from combat, and the archon runs him down, killing him, can you then trap his soul, or does the enemy need to be killed in melee? What if a fearless character dies to no-retreat saves, or a space marine hero getting caught and thus subjected to no-retreat?
Any insight into these situations would be awesome. Thanks.
Last edited by Der_Kaiser; July 10th, 2011 at 02:12.
The enemy's gate is down
Since there is no precedent from S 3(4), I'd say its doubled to 8. Since soul trap doubles strength, and combat drugs are obv. added beforehand. As for the second one, I'm going to have to say no to both. Fact is it says the Archon has to get him in combat, as such him running away is the sqaud mauling him, and fearless is his own stuipi...er bravery doing the job.
The soul trap merely specifies that they kill the model, looking at the sweeping advance rules (rulebook page 40 ) and the no retreat! rules (rulebook page 44) merely state the enemy unit is destroyed (in the case of sweeping advance) and takes saves (in the case of no retreat!).2) If an IC in close combat with the archon flees from combat, and the archon runs him down, killing him, can you then trap his soul, or does the enemy need to be killed in melee? What if a fearless character dies to no-retreat saves, or a space marine hero getting caught and thus subjected to no-retreat?
I would say that the soul trap would as this mechanic is very similiar to how power from pain works in regards to both rules as amdended in the most current DE FaQ (which can be found here). However I am not 100% on this.
Hmmm, so if the Archon has +1 strength from drugs and has +1 from furious charge then the example given would make him strength 10 charge (3+1+1) x2 = 10, no? Since there are plenty of unknown examples here I would certainly hesitate saying that the Archon in your example would be (3+1)2 rather than (3)2+1 = 7. I am not much of a rules lawyer but it would seem that whenever you multiply a characteristic you do that first then add the bonuses. I think there may already be some examples elsewhere in the game that reflect this but as already mentioned there is no real precedent in our codex to draw from. Take the least beneficial route, strength 6 + 1 for drugs = 7 is more than enough.
As for soul-trapping, I think Outsider has it. I do believe if the Archon causes the destruction of a unit then he gets he can soul-trap. Soultrap does not mention melee or close combat at all thus you can soultrap in the shooting phase if the Archon kills for example his blaster. So yah, just like pain tokens the Archon should be able to soultrap if he/she destroys the IC/MC in question.
Just thinking out loud, just an opinion.
"On a hunch, I melted them down and inhaled the fumes and read the dark eldar codex again, AND FOUND A BUNCH OF NEW RULES HIDDEN BEHIND THE OTHER WORDS..." [Gardeth on modelling & interpreting the DE Codex]
that is definately an item that needs an FAQ.... not that its a bad item. just needs clerification. I agree with KwiKwags determination of it.
This is clearly represented in the rulebook: you first double your statistic, then add any bonuses.
For the second one... not so sure. Does the Archon need to specifically kill an IC/MC in close combat? Yes. Is running him down a specific kill? No. Also, knowing GW on how they write the rulings, you only get to soul-trap if you kill the IC/MC with the attacks from the Archon.
Innovation suffuses this hobby like a tea bag in the boiling water of play.