Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I've run into a few different situations where assaulting or getting assaulted has pulled my units out of range of some beneficial bonuses. I was hoping to get a second opinion on whether or not we played these circumstances properly:
1. Gaunts begin turn in synapse range. Then assault and move out of synapse range. The gaunts lose combat. We ruled that because the gaunts were out of synapse range they had to take a leadership test.
2. Gaunts begin assault phase within 6" of a Tervigon with Toxin sacs and Adrenal Glands. After assaulting they are no longer in range of the tervigon. We ruled that because the gaunts were out of Tervigon range they no longer benefit from the bonus.
3. Gaunts are within 6" of Venomthrope. They get assaulted and react, moving out of range of the Venomthrope. We ruled that because the Gaunts were assaulted while within 6" of the Venomthrope they still get the benefit of defensive grenades.
Thanks for the help.
I would concur on all of these points. None of the special rules list "at the beginning of the phase" or something similar, and in the Venomthrope's case, are clearly explicitly whenever a test/situation relying on them is taken (for example, if the venomthrope is targeted first in shooting and killed, nothing subsequently that phase would get the cover save, where in the case of say, the Grey Knight Librarian's Shrouding psychic power it explicitly lasts until the end of the phase)
"The sergeant major asked me what my job is. I told him it's to do what I am told. He gave me a medal. I like the Imperial Guard."
"Innocentia Probat Nihil"
I second Stradius.
I agree with 1 and 3, but disagree with 2. The Furious Charge USR merely states that the benefits accrue to the unit in a turn in which the unit launches an assault. The Assault Phase doesn't have any timed sub-phases defined. If the termagants are within 6" of an adrenal-glanded Tervigon when the Assault Phase begins, and the termagants assault, they should get Furious Charge. They were within 6" of the Tervigon during the Assault Phase, and they launched an assault. Criteria met.
ninjabackhand: point and click, again, really? even after i give you an military term "shock tactic" you still call it point and click.
RIP Warhammer 40,000: 21 Sep 1998 - 24 May 2014