Question on some Trukk Cheese - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Age
    29
    Posts
    3
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x0)

    Question on some Trukk Cheese

    Hey guys,

    I've been thinking about how to run my trukks and came up with an idea that i think technically works for a first turn charge if the enemy is lined up on thier border. Below is how the move would work (assuming approx 24" separation) tell me what you think.

    1. Set up your trukk sideways on you deployment zone border
    2. Pivot your trukk 90 degrees toward the target (approx 3" closer due to pivot)
    3. Move at crusing speed with red paint job (13" closer)
    4. Disembark (2" closer)
    5. Assault (last 6")

    so do you think this works rules wise. if so is it a fair move or just picking at the weeds


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Member Hockeyman506's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    1,648
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    184 (x5)

    It's a fairly common strategy. DE uses it a lot of the time...as do some SM lists with rhino to get some more distance. You probably wouldn't get 3" out of it, though.

  4. #3
    Senior Member krytie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Age
    38
    Posts
    266
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    23 (x1)

    It's a bit weak to use a pivot to gain ground without moving, but it's legally within the rules.

    Don't forget that you'll gain more than 2" when disembarking, because you'll have <-trukk->2"<-Model base width-> giving you another inch approximately.
    There are three types of people in this world -- those who can count, and those who cannot.

  5. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Age
    32
    Posts
    510
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    113 (x3)

    In certain circles this is a good way to get punched in the head. Just letting you know.

  6. #5
    Senior Member scottyde's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Grand Forks
    Age
    29
    Posts
    668
    Mentioned
    7 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    72 (x2)

    Quote Originally Posted by tinytim84
    In certain circles this is a good way to get punched in the head. Just letting you know.
    Those circles need to take anger management classes.

  7. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Age
    32
    Posts
    510
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    113 (x3)

    Quote Originally Posted by scottyde View Post
    Those circles need to take anger management classes.
    I don't disagree but they do exist.

  8. #7
    Member Hockeyman506's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    1,648
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    184 (x5)

    Quote Originally Posted by tinytim84 View Post
    In certain circles this is a good way to get punched in the head. Just letting you know.
    Meh, it's in the scope of the rules so I don't care if my opponents do it. Just means I deploy another 2-3 inches back than I normally would. Doesn't change a ton in my overall strategy. It's just a bit more complexity in the game that I need to take into account.

  9. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    4
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x0)

    Just to bring this back up again, I employed this tactic at a torney about a month ago, should have seen my opponents jaw drop when the judge ruled that this is in fact a legal tactic as defined in the rule book (although if looks could kill, this judge would have made mince meat out of me). Apparently you can do the same for BW's as well?

  10. #9
    Senior Member Orkbert's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Age
    43
    Posts
    574
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    117 (x3)

    deleted (wrong thread)
    It ain't easy bein' green... :-)

  11. #10
    Senior Member SILKiam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Wolverhampton, UK
    Age
    27
    Posts
    543
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    136 (x3)

    Quote Originally Posted by Matt2716 View Post
    Just to bring this back up again, I employed this tactic at a torney about a month ago, should have seen my opponents jaw drop when the judge ruled that this is in fact a legal tactic as defined in the rule book (although if looks could kill, this judge would have made mince meat out of me). Apparently you can do the same for BW's as well?

    Yes you can. You can do it with any vehicle that you want moving fast. Although with the battlewagon it is more to do with using the deffrolla to prise open enemy transports so that the Trukk mobs can get into combat.

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts