Misc. Rules Questions - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Age
    39
    Posts
    95
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    2 (x1)

    Misc. Rules Questions

    I played a game against Tyranids yesterday, and we ended up with a couple of questions:

    1. Do reanimation protocols happen before or after pile-in moves? We guessed after, but thinking about it now, I think it states that the model spawns 1" from the ongoing combat and immediately piles in, which implies to me that the pile-in occurs after, assuming that it isn't a totally separate pile-in move...
    2. With mindshackle scarabs, does the model have to roll to hit, or just to wound? We didn't think it had to roll to hit...

    Thanks!


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Columbia, MD
    Posts
    279
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    94 (x1)

    1) Reanimation Protocols occur at the end of the phase (in this case the end of the Combat Phase). What this means is each Close Combat on the board concludes with the usual things, including Pile-Ins. These Pile-Ins ignore the Necrons that have been removed (there's just counters marking how many were lost) and al occur after the conclusion of each Close Combat. Once all Close Combats are resolved, the phase ends and Reanimation Protocols occur. At this point you see how many Necrons come back in each unit, place them in coherency with their unit and then immediately perform a new Pile-In for the returned models. Yes, this means models may appear in different positions from where they fell and end up in base-to-base with different models.

    2) Honestly, now that I re-read it I think you might be right. It says he inflicts D3 hits on his own unit, which are then resolved at his Strength. It doesn't say he attacks his unit or attempts to hit, but that he inflicts hits. So I'm guessing it's D3 automatic hits at his Strength (+weapons).

  4. #3
    The Dvl in Pale Moonlight danceman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Age
    34
    Posts
    889
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    121 (x3)

    1. XIII is correct.
    2. No need to roll to hit. If it had say D3 attacks you would have to follow the usual rules for to-hit and wound but since you're rolling for a number of inflicted hits, they are automatic. Just resolve the wounds as per the relevant special rule.
    ""What's the matter? Don't ya like clowns? Don't we make ya laugh?" - Captain Spaulding.

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts