Welcome to Librarium Online!
I don't know if anyone else has missed this but: "This power can be used to move units into, or out of, reserve."
So you roll a D3 and that many units can automatically come out of reserve BEFORE the first turn of the game begins.
Soooo that means (for example) you can get a Monolith (at minimum) coming on (from deep strike) in the game. Or Imagine you do that with a Doom Scythe or two.
Imagine THEN you are using the Stormlord and can steal the first turn on a 4+ (or are playing a scenario where you are the attacker and go first automatically).
My mind boggles at how nasty this is.
I don't see what's so good about it
“The ultimate philosophical question, “Am I human or machine” is answered by many people, “I don’t care, as long as I am”
- Myron Krueger
Annnnnnnnd......this is a game changer how? Other than being able to react to enemy deployment or bait their deployment (both of which are good and useful), how is that a "Filthy 1st Strike" at all?
Doesn't mean you can deepstrike them onto the field at all. Just means you get to redeploy them using the same deployment methods that the mission allows (IE on the table, in reserve, in reserve+deepstrike, or in reserve+outflank). It's very useful, but doesn't break the game at all.
Last edited by Hockeyman506; November 15th, 2011 at 08:08.
What he means is if you had a monolith and 2 doom scythes is that instead of rolling for them to turn up from the start of turn 2, you can potentially have all 3 deep striking turn one. But i agree it isnt really that game changing because it can go awfully wrong.
Why you would want to reserve a monolith when they are so big and can only come on the board via deepstrike if they are placed in reserve i don't know. A big game i had on Saturday at my local store showed how bad it can go, 2nd turn it turns up and scatters into a unit causing mishap which meant it went back into reserve. Turn 3 it mishapped again and blew up.
Grand Illusion changes the deployment type of D3 units. It doesn't bring D3 Reserves onto the field in Turn 1. You can use it to re-deploy D3 units by placing them into or out of Reserve -- where non-Reserved models are ones which deploy in your deployment zone with the rest of your army. All this happens before Turn 1 (and before the roll to steal initiative).
The best thing you could do with it is hold back a killer unit e.g. Lith or Doom Scythe, allow your opponent to deploy as per what he can see, and then mix things up by un-reserving the Lith, placing it in your front line, and therefore allowing a juicy T1 Particle Whip on an unsuspecting lineup.
The problem with Grand Illusion is that 50% of the time, you will be deploying second, making GI almost useless, other than allowing you to react to Scout moves (which I have never seen used effectively) or to reposition against infiltrators (which can be useful against some armies, if you really care about avoiding/eliminating a suicide T1 charge unit). In these 50% of games, any other C'Tan power will be more effective over the course of a game.
There are three types of people in this world -- those who can count, and those who cannot.
Tau: 6K - W17-D3-L4, Orks: 4K - W9-D0-L2, SM: 7K - W7-D3-L4,CSM: 4K W5-D1-L1, Nids: 3.2K W3-D0-L2
Apoc games (mixture of armies used): W5-D0-L1
Ignore my earlier post, im not sure where i got DS from, just re-read the rules and there's nothing about DSing units, you just have a choice of using the result of the D3 to remove units from reserve and place them on the table. This can be quite sneaky as the enemy deploys his units against what you have already deployed and then you roll a D3 and plonk up to 3 nasties onto the table etc.
The ability is used after all forces have been deployed and after Scout moves. So it happens just prior to the first turn of the game/steal initiative.
If I have declared that, during my deployment, that my Monolith will be in reserve and this power allows me to move it out of reserve then as far as I can see it will arrive on the board prior to the start of turn one.
Now as the rules for the Monolith state that "if it is held in reserve, it must arrive by Deep Strike", then as written, I use Grant Illusion to move it out of reserve and deep strike it onto the board.
Now if the Necrons are going first, you have the Monolith on the board straight away, with the ability to teleport another unit from reserve (as the Dimensional corridor ignores the reserve roll rules) or move a unit from the back of the board in your deployment zone to where ever you have dropped the 'lith.
As for the risk factor. Well since this is prior to the opposition moving you will have an entire 2ft by 6ft landing zone to drop the 'lith. Barring scouts the only thing that can hurt this plan is impassible terrain. I think we can all judge 12" by eye so ending up off the board is unlikely to happen.
So right from the get go your opponent has a huge hard to kill (yes AV 14 is still hard to kill) vehicle and a unit right in his grill or on an objective straight away.