Welcome to Librarium Online!
I've looked around a few places and can't seem to find any clear answers as of yet on how these abilities affect units locked in CC.
Portal of Exile:
My position is that it affects ALL enemies models in D6" regardless of being locked in combat.
It doesn't target specific units or models until the attack is resolved, similar to how you scatter a blast and it can land in CC. It specifically states "NOT units" and it doesn't affect friendly units (no risk of sucking in your own guys). It is an ability and is not a shooting attack, it is simply "treated" as one which I beleive implies that it simply follows that it must be used during the shooting phase on its turn (ie not on the enemies turn, not when assaulted, or during movement or assault phase, etc.) Note: Being an ability, I assume it can also be used even if you fired the particle whip (I assume the only one ordinance weapon can fire and no other rule applies to gauss flux arcs.) The point of view of the type of weapon, that it "sucks in enemy units" there's no reason why it couldn't affect a unit in CC. What reason would it be that CC cancel's out this kind of attack? The feeling of this weapon is intended to be used on close by enemies regardless of being locked in cc
My position is that it affects all units period. Whether that are in CC or not, you can even hit yourself (including the firing Doom Scythe) with this type of attack.
A line is simply drawn between the two points and the units, regardless of falling back, locked in combat, friendly, etc. it will be affected by the weapon. The rules seem pretty concrete that any and all units hit will automatically receive hits equal to the number of models touch by the line, no exceptions. From a weapon point of view, a death ray that follows a line will hit anything and everything in its path.
Tesla Destructor specifically mentions its effects affect engaged units, but I beleive that this is because the ability specifically targets units and thus must specifically say it can affect CC. These other abilities are area affect (similar to blasts) with special rules. I would say these weapons function in this way on purpose and would play (when in agreement with other players) in this manner until ruled otherwise. Currently, I am unaware of any touney rulings involving these weapons. If anyone has other reason for or against these positions please explain, or if there is in fact a ruling/FAQ on the effects of these weapons.
Id really like to see some opinions here. Also when is a new necrons FAQ (on tis forum) coming up?
PoE- the entry reads that the Eternity Gate may be used either to teleport one a unit or as a PoE. This has nothing to do with any weapons fired, so you may fire the Particle Whip and use the PoE.
As far as the attack itself, it only affects those enemy models within 6'' of it, not whole units as it stipulates. I also agree with it affecting enemy models in CC but it does not directly address it. I have been playing as if it couldn't affect CC for simplicity's sake.
Death Ray- While I do theorize that the ray could be used against models in CC, it makes no distiction. It doesn't say it can't affect models in CC nor does it say it can. I have been playing as if it couldn't, again for simplicity's sake.
Tesla Destructor- this weapon can affect models in CC as it states engaged or unengaged models. I only mention it to contrast it's wording against that of the Death Ray and the PoE.
Unfortunately, the above can go either way. Have to wait for a FAQ or address the issues with your opponent before the game.
Last edited by LordChaeron; November 30th, 2011 at 22:59.
We had another question about that come up in the games that I've played my death scythe. Now since the Death Ray doesn't mention anything specific about picking targets and shooting if you fire the death ray do you have to then fire the destructors on a target that the Death Ray hit or can you choose a completely different target?
"LET'S COMMENCE PREPARATIONS FOR RUMBLING!" Mono-Tzeentch 1:1:1
It actually says that the destructors must target a unit that was hit by the death ray. But I think if you fire the destrutors first, then the death ray can be used anywhere.
In that case I would assune you could choose any target you wanted to as the Death Ray doesn't specify a target.
What I do is fire the Tesla Destructor first and then resolve the Death Ray. Seems to cause less confusion and the issue only rarely comes up.
Foreverkul pretty much covered exactly what I was saying.
Last edited by LordChaeron; December 2nd, 2011 at 00:45.