Welcome to Librarium Online!
So I was playing at a big Necron event last week and a small debate came up. The other army tossed a drop pod at us first turn so we were able to deep strike two monoliths due to Orikan's special rule. One of them was destroyed during the enemy shooting phase but the other survived.
The problem came up at the beginning of our movement phase when we tried to pull a squad of warriors in reserve through the portal. They other team said that you can't get reserves out first turn because you can't roll for them, but the monolith rules state that the unit can be pulled in off the table or out of reserve.
So my question is which is it? Can I get stuff first turn or no?
Seems pretty cut and dry to me. Any unit that fulfills the listed requirements can disembark from the Monolith's portal. Those requirements are that the unit must be friendly, unengaged, non-vehicle, Necron, and either on the battlefield or in reserve. It does not say "or a unit in reserve that has passed it's reserve roll for that turn." Simply, any unit in reserve.Originally Posted by Necron Codex, pg 47
So, yes, you can pull reinforcements first turn through the Monolith's portal without having needed a reserve roll. Unfortunately, though Orikan's special rule does not allow you to deep strike models whenever an opponent's models arrive from reserves. Orikan's ability allows you to reroll all failed reserve rolls once per game. The special rule you are thinking of belongs to Zahndrekh.
It works the same way as drop pods. It comes in whenever the rule states, not depending on reserves
“The ultimate philosophical question, “Am I human or machine” is answered by many people, “I don’t care, as long as I am”
- Myron Krueger
Thank you, Bossgorestompa. I got the two guys mixed up, lol. What's funny is our judge made the decision that it was a misprint in the codex and figured that Matt Ward forgot to add the words if available.
Even if it IS a misprint, why should it be played any other way until the FAQ? I mean, how many times has a judge told you "No, you can't do that until an FAQ is released." when a rule was worded poorly, and obviously RAI was the polar opposite of RAW? Well.. maybe it hasn't happened to you, but it has to me :3
At any rate, I find it hilarious that the SMurfs said you cannot deploy from reserves on the first turn when they do it all the time XD "Stop it guys, that's our trick! You can no has our trick!"