Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Well two questions really I think the latter has been covered though.
1. Can a single model fail more than one Mindshackle Test in order to do 2D3+ hits on his unit.
2. When it comes to the models turn to strike and he is the only one left in his unit does he still strike himself.
Couldn't quite see anything in either the Codex or the BRB.
There is no "I" in "team", there is an "I" in "pie" however, as in "Meat Pie" with "Meat" being an anogram of "Team".
I would say yes to both... The first could probably use FAQ clarification, but the second one seems pretty clear to me.
1) All Mindshackle tests occur at the start of the turn. It's debatable whether a model can be forced to test more than once, but the result is the same. Rules-wise, once they fail a test (or more than one), the effect remains the same: On their Initiative, they attack their own unit. You don't get multiple results from multiple failed tests; you tested multiple times and failed once or more. So, they would still only get their D3 hits, regardless of how many times they tested and failed. Fluff-wise, you wouldn't suddenly become more proficient at hand-to-hand because you were bombarded with mind-control; you'd simply have a higher chance of succumbing to said mind-control.
2) Until FAQ'd, this one is pretty blatant. RAW says they perform D3 hits on their own unit. Regardless of whether they were an IC to begin with or all that remains of a group, the model still acts as its "own unit". Thus, it performs D3 hits on itself... which is why people are complaining about how OP Mindshackle is. Fluff-wise, imagine someone standing alone as scarabs burrow into his head and force him to start tearing his face off or sticking himself with his own weapon.
1) I see no reason why a single model wouldn't take multiple Ld tests if it is randomly selected multiple times from multiple Mindshackle Scarabs. If they fail at least one check, they make d3 attacks against their own unit. RAI, there is no justification for them making more than just that, d3.
2) I don't expect to see this mentioned in the FAQ. There is no way to change the rules to have IC's attack other units in close combat (besides themselves), without the rule being either totally convoluted or totally broken. If people think it's OP now, just imagine their reaction if you could make Mephiston attack another unit locked in close combat instead just himself
I've recently become a fan of this thing called Dubstep. And you should too.
Datsik & Flux Pavillion - Crunch (Youtube)
Da Moo Kowz is da drinkinest Orks of dem all!